A Microsoft Word forum. Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter forum » Microsoft Word Newsgroups » Microsoft Word Help
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes word 2



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 1st 08, 03:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
gadget268
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes word 2

Problem

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Please note , My word startup folder is empty and the office12 startup
folder is empty also. I can not delete anything in it since the folders are
empty. Would not know what to delete if the files where there.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827732

SYMPTOMS

If you double-click a document (for example, in Microsoft Windows Explorer)
to open the document in Microsoft Office Word 2007 , you may receive the
following error message:

The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK" and
then close open dialog boxes to continue.

CAUSE

This problem may occur if you have a Word template in your Startup folder
that contains an autoexec macro that opens a dialog box.

Back to the top

WORKAROUND

Method 1: Open in Word

To open the document directly in Word, follow these steps.

Word 2007.

1. Start Word 2007.

2. Click the Microsoft Office Button, and then click Open.

Method 2: Remove the Template from Your Startup Folder

To remove a template from your startup folder, follow these steps.

Word 2007.

1. Exit Word 2007.

2. Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, and then click
Windows Explorer.

3. Locate one of the following folders:• C:\Documents and
Settings\username\Application Data\Microsoft\Word\STARTUP

Note In Windows Vista, locate the folder
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Word\S TARTUP

• C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE12\STARTUP

4. Double-click the Startup folder to open it.

5. In the right Windows Explorer pane, click to select the template that you
want to remove, and then press DELETE.

Note In Windows Vista, locate the folder
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Word\S TARTUP

• C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\Startup folder

4. Double-click the Startup folder to open it.

5. In the right Windows Explorer pane, click to select the template that you
want to remove, and then press the DELETE key.

Update

The templates are in another folder and here is the path

Local Disk (C)/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/Microsoft/Templates not the
word folder.

There are two files here Normal dotm and Email dotm I managed to delete the
email dotm but the normal keeps comming back after deleting it. I tested it
and the first word doc that I open is normal without the dialog message the
second doc I opem gives me the dialog message by this point the normal dotm
has re-appeared after deleting it I have confirmed this by looking in the
folder. If someone can tell me how to get rid of this file for good my
problem is solved. I am sure. I do not know how???????????????

Update

When I turn off my user account control setting as administrator I am able
to delete the template perminantly and fixes the issue but when I turn it
back on my issue comes back. Anyone??


Was this post helpful to you?

Why should I rate a post?






Manage Your Profile |Rules of Conduct |Contact Us
© 2008 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use
|Trademarks |Privacy Statement

Ads
  #2  
Old October 5th 08, 01:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Cindy M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,416
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes word 2

Hi =?Utf-8?B?Z2FkZ2V0MjY4?=,

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Have you looked in the "Processes" of the Windows Task Manager to see if
there's another (invisible) instance of WinWord.Exe running?

Press Ctrl+Alt+Del, the choose "Task manager" to bring up the tool.

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #3  
Old October 5th 08, 05:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
gadget268
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

Hi Cindy

No. There is no other winword.exe running. It is the only one.

"Cindy M." wrote:

Hi =?Utf-8?B?Z2FkZ2V0MjY4?=,

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Have you looked in the "Processes" of the Windows Task Manager to see if
there's another (invisible) instance of WinWord.Exe running?

Press Ctrl+Alt+Del, the choose "Task manager" to bring up the tool.

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)


  #4  
Old October 7th 08, 04:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Cindy M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,416
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

Hi =?Utf-8?B?Z2FkZ2V0MjY4?=,

No. There is no other winword.exe running. It is the only one.

OK, then apparently there's no application running in the background, or an "orphaned"
instance of Word.

In that case, if you hold down SHIFT when opening a document (this will suppress
"Auto" macros executing) does the problem go away?

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Have you looked in the "Processes" of the Windows Task Manager to see if
there's another (invisible) instance of WinWord.Exe running?

Press Ctrl+Alt+Del, the choose "Task manager" to bring up the tool.



Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply in the
newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #5  
Old October 7th 08, 10:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
gadget268
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

No. It did not work. I stil get the dialog message when holding down the
shift key.

"Cindy M." wrote:

Hi =?Utf-8?B?Z2FkZ2V0MjY4?=,

No. There is no other winword.exe running. It is the only one.

OK, then apparently there's no application running in the background, or an "orphaned"
instance of Word.

In that case, if you hold down SHIFT when opening a document (this will suppress
"Auto" macros executing) does the problem go away?

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Have you looked in the "Processes" of the Windows Task Manager to see if
there's another (invisible) instance of WinWord.Exe running?

Press Ctrl+Alt+Del, the choose "Task manager" to bring up the tool.



Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply in the
newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)


  #6  
Old October 8th 08, 12:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Cindy M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,416
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

Hi =?Utf-8?B?Z2FkZ2V0MjY4?=,

No. It did not work. I stil get the dialog message when holding down the
shift key.

Sigh the only other trouble-shooting steps I know that might narrow down what the problem could
be are starting Word in Safe Mode (hold down Ctrl when starting Word), and starting Windows in Safe
Mode. Does either of these make a difference?

No. There is no other winword.exe running. It is the only one.

OK, then apparently there's no application running in the background, or an "orphaned"
instance of Word.

In that case, if you hold down SHIFT when opening a document (this will suppress
"Auto" macros executing) does the problem go away?

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Have you looked in the "Processes" of the Windows Task Manager to see if
there's another (invisible) instance of WinWord.Exe running?

Press Ctrl+Alt+Del, the choose "Task manager" to bring up the tool.



Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply in the newsgroup
and not by e-mail :-)

  #7  
Old October 8th 08, 06:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
gadget268
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

Starting in safe mode worked for both by using the control button and not
using the control button when starting word. I do not know if this means
anything but he last file that was loading in safemode with a please wait
prompt and the bottom of the screen was driver (crc.disk.sys) before loading
to desktop safemode.

"Cindy M." wrote:

Hi =?Utf-8?B?Z2FkZ2V0MjY4?=,

No. It did not work. I stil get the dialog message when holding down the
shift key.

Sigh the only other trouble-shooting steps I know that might narrow down what the problem could
be are starting Word in Safe Mode (hold down Ctrl when starting Word), and starting Windows in Safe
Mode. Does either of these make a difference?

No. There is no other winword.exe running. It is the only one.

OK, then apparently there's no application running in the background, or an "orphaned"
instance of Word.

In that case, if you hold down SHIFT when opening a document (this will suppress
"Auto" macros executing) does the problem go away?

I have a laptop hpdv9730us on vista home premium. I just installed
Microsoft Office Pro. 2007.I get the following error when opening word docs
only. I tried a reinstallation of word and Office 2007 and it did not work.

“The command cannot be performed because a dialog box is open. Click "OK"
and then close open dialog boxes to continue. “

I have tried everything in this microsoft Link( I pasted it here just in
case) and it did not help either. Is there anything else I can try?

Have you looked in the "Processes" of the Windows Task Manager to see if
there's another (invisible) instance of WinWord.Exe running?

Press Ctrl+Alt+Del, the choose "Task manager" to bring up the tool.



Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply in the newsgroup
and not by e-mail :-)


  #8  
Old October 24th 08, 11:46 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Cindy M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,416
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

Sorry, I was away...

Starting in safe mode worked for both by using the control button and not
using the control button when starting word. I do not know if this means
anything but he last file that was loading in safemode with a please wait
prompt and the bottom of the screen was driver (crc.disk.sys) before loading
to desktop safemode.

OK then I think you need to take this to a Windows forum or newsgroup.
Apparently, something is loading into Windows that's interfering. Possibly
there's a tool that's using Word for something, this is generating a dialog
box that't not being dismissed. The Windows specialists can help you find out
what's loading and show you how to lock those things out, one-by-one, until you
track down the culprit.

Be sure to explain the problem and that starting Windows in Safe Mode "fixes"
the problem (for the duration of the session). And mention the version of
Windows you're using as well as if you are logged in as an administrator (or
whether you can log in as an administrator).

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #9  
Old October 24th 08, 12:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
gadget268
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Dialog Box is open Click Ok then close open diallog boxes wor

Ok. thanks for the help.

"Cindy M." wrote:

Sorry, I was away...

Starting in safe mode worked for both by using the control button and not
using the control button when starting word. I do not know if this means
anything but he last file that was loading in safemode with a please wait
prompt and the bottom of the screen was driver (crc.disk.sys) before loading
to desktop safemode.

OK then I think you need to take this to a Windows forum or newsgroup.
Apparently, something is loading into Windows that's interfering. Possibly
there's a tool that's using Word for something, this is generating a dialog
box that't not being dismissed. The Windows specialists can help you find out
what's loading and show you how to lock those things out, one-by-one, until you
track down the culprit.

Be sure to explain the problem and that starting Windows in Safe Mode "fixes"
the problem (for the duration of the session). And mention the version of
Windows you're using as well as if you are logged in as an administrator (or
whether you can log in as an administrator).

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 17 2005)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying Open and Save As Dialog Boxes Tim[_3_] Microsoft Word Help 14 June 25th 07 12:35 PM
Previews in Open/Insert picture dialog boxes Bobbi Page Layout 2 May 8th 07 02:00 PM
How do I close multiple open documents on Word with one click? Danny Microsoft Word Help 1 December 5th 06 08:51 PM
Word File Open and Save Dialog Boxes Places Bar Customization NDeL Microsoft Word Help 2 March 12th 05 05:27 AM
why do I get a message telling me to close dialog box when I open. Sellhigh Microsoft Word Help 1 February 25th 05 04:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2021 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.