A Microsoft Word forum. Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter forum » Microsoft Word Newsgroups » Formatting Long Documents
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Re saving macros problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 25th 13, 01:09 AM
kaye123 kaye123 is offline
Junior Member
 
First recorded activity by WordBanter: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Default Re saving macros problem

I just received a reply from Lisa. I was waiting for an email so it is a month old.
I am obviously having problems saving my macro on some documents as stated below. I need to read up on my problem . What questions should I ask please? I use a macro to change footnotes in word.
regards
Ads
  #2  
Old October 26th 13, 08:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Stefan Blom[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Re saving macros problem

Since you have replied to an old thread, I see your post out of context
(because I'm using an NNTP newsreader where older messages get deleted
regularly).

In what way do you want to change the footnotes in Word? Which version of
Word are you using?

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




"kaye123" wrote in message
...

I just received a reply from Lisa. I was waiting for an email so it is a
month old.
I am obviously having problems saving my macro on some documents as
stated below. I need to read up on my problem . What questions should I
ask please? I use a macro to change footnotes in word.
regards




--
kaye123


  #3  
Old October 27th 13, 10:38 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Lisa Wilke-Thissen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 123
Default Re saving macros problem

Hi Stefan,

"Stefan Blom" wrote

Since you have replied to an old thread,
I see your post out of context


As I don't understand exactly Kaye's problem, here the discussion:

Active post from kaye123:

[Word 2013]
I am obviously having problems saving
my macro on some documents as stated
below. I need to read up on my problem.
What questions should I ask please?
I use a macro to change footnotes in word.



Original question from 26. Sept. 2013:

I changed my footnote spacing by using a macro
(a long time ago).
I don't know if my problems with this macro lately
is why I have been loosing all italics in my footnotes
as I work with my document.

I use citation software and you can't change it manually.

I don't know what is happening and what I should be
looking at to troubleshoot the problem. I don't know if
they are related to each other.

So as a first step is there a simple answer as to
why footnotes are changing without factoring in
my macro? I don't really want to get into a
discussion about my macro at this stage.

Can anyone through any light on this please?
Using Word 2013.



My answer from 26. Sept. 2013:

ITALIC usually toggles: normal text will be
formatted italic, italic text will be formatted
back to normal.
Maybe, your macro or something else resetted
italic to normal. Or anybody/anything reapplied the
style "Footnotetext", so italic was removed...


--
Cheers,
Lisa

  #4  
Old October 27th 13, 12:25 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Stefan Blom[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Re saving macros problem

Lisa,

I remember those posts (from you and kaye123) in a completely different
thread (with the subject "Losing italics in my footnotes").

We have to wait for kaye123 to give us more information...

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




"Lisa Wilke-Thissen" wrote in message
...
Hi Stefan,

"Stefan Blom" wrote

Since you have replied to an old thread, I see your post out of context


As I don't understand exactly Kaye's problem, here the discussion:

Active post from kaye123:

[Word 2013]
I am obviously having problems saving my macro on some documents as
stated below. I need to read up on my problem. What questions should I
ask please? I use a macro to change footnotes in word.



Original question from 26. Sept. 2013:

I changed my footnote spacing by using a macro
(a long time ago).
I don't know if my problems with this macro lately is why I have been
loosing all italics in my footnotes as I work with my document.
I use citation software and you can't change it manually. I don't know
what is happening and what I should be looking at to troubleshoot the
problem. I don't know if they are related to each other.
So as a first step is there a simple answer as to why footnotes are
changing without factoring in my macro? I don't really want to get into
a discussion about my macro at this stage.
Can anyone through any light on this please?
Using Word 2013.



My answer from 26. Sept. 2013:

ITALIC usually toggles: normal text will be formatted italic, italic
text will be formatted back to normal.
Maybe, your macro or something else resetted
italic to normal. Or anybody/anything reapplied the
style "Footnotetext", so italic was removed...


--
Cheers,
Lisa

  #5  
Old October 28th 13, 05:43 AM
kaye123 kaye123 is offline
Junior Member
 
First recorded activity by WordBanter: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Default

[quote='Stefan Blom[_3_];494862']Since you have replied to an old thread, I see your post out of context
(because I'm using an NNTP newsreader where older messages get deleted
regularly).

In what way do you want to change the footnotes in Word? Which version of
Word are you using?

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP

Hello Stephan and Lisa
Using Word 2010 Win 32 bit
Can I start again because I have been doing some trouble shooting although I am not sure I can make my problem clear. I have had a macro for footnotes and I was using it trouble free. It is still in global templates. It was just a margin setting in footnotes. I have a lot of add ons because I have endnote citation software that opens with Word.
1. My main problem was that I have inadvertently saved some files in word and others in macro template. I didn't create this and donít know how it happened. HOWEVER
2 I now have a normal.dotm problem. As a result I have a lot of files that appear to be roaming files and I cannot open them.
3 Normal.dotm. I only have one normal file which is macro enabled as I deleted all the others although I didnít have any that were not macro enabled. But I cannot delete the last one because I get the message that I have a word document open elsewhere. I donít have an actual document open but I do have word open without a document. I canít get rid of this until I save it but then I get a message that a file is open so I donít save and it goes away until I open a word file again. So I go for donít save and of course it comes back again.
4 So I do not have a normal.dotm word file, just a normal.docm in macro enabled templates.

I have tried a few things. In options, advanced, I do not have prompt before saving ticked.
I have searched for normal.dotm and only have the macro enabled normal.dotm. I cannot delete this because I have the file open again. I also get a lot of files that are read only files. So all sorts of problems. This has only been happening over a week. Another option I have changed is preserve fidelity when sharing. I have ticked saved embedded fonts. I donít know if this will fix the italics problem. In cut copy and paste I have changed to keep source formatting. But this seems to revert back to other options.
I receive files back from proofreading and they come back to me ok.
So my first problem is dealing with the normal.dotm files.
I hope you can make sense of this.

kind regards
I have just seen a document that explained that normal docm is supposed to be macro enabled. This article describes my problem in "Read only mode" with screenshots. http://www.wordarticles.com/Articles...tes/Normal.php

I cant print yet to read it thoroughly because printer has decided not to work.!! But I know the article doesn't show how to fix it. I have just opened all my documents but haven't tried saving yet but so far all is well. I have already followed instructions in options in the trust centre so this is ok. My documents are being sent back from proofing from a third party so this may be why I had trouble. . Especially related to read only files when I can't see this, but this has only occurred recently. The article is here
http://www.wordarticles.com/Articles...tes/Normal.php
.

Last edited by kaye123 : October 29th 13 at 07:20 AM. Reason: New information
  #6  
Old October 31st 13, 02:13 AM
kaye123 kaye123 is offline
Junior Member
 
First recorded activity by WordBanter: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa Wilke-Thissen View Post
Hi Stefan,

"Stefan Blom" wrote

Since you have replied to an old thread,
I see your post out of context


As I don't understand exactly Kaye's problem, here the discussion:

Active post from kaye123:

[Word 2013]
I am obviously having problems saving
my macro on some documents as stated
below. I need to read up on my problem.
What questions should I ask please?
I use a macro to change footnotes in word.



Original question from 26. Sept. 2013:

I changed my footnote spacing by using a macro
(a long time ago).
I don't know if my problems with this macro lately
is why I have been loosing all italics in my footnotes
as I work with my document.

I use citation software and you can't change it manually.

I don't know what is happening and what I should be
looking at to troubleshoot the problem. I don't know if
they are related to each other.

So as a first step is there a simple answer as to
why footnotes are changing without factoring in
my macro? I don't really want to get into a
discussion about my macro at this stage.

Can anyone through any light on this please?
Using Word 2013.



My answer from 26. Sept. 2013:

ITALIC usually toggles: normal text will be
formatted italic, italic text will be formatted
back to normal.
Maybe, your macro or something else resetted
italic to normal. Or anybody/anything reapplied the
style "Footnotetext", so italic was removed...


--
Cheers,
Lisa
Hello Lisa
I have posted a full explanation of my problem. However as to the italics this appears to be separate as the macro is just for spacing of the footnotes and other documents haven't been changed. What do you mean here please? Why are3 some docs ok and not others?
ITALIC usually toggles: normal text will be
formatted italic, italic text will be formatted
back to normal. If it wasn't anything to do with the macro what else would cause this please? However if it is related to my overall problems oformal.docm please advise? OI have added a bit onto my problem and a link that tells me what happens but not a solution. I stated that I now know that normal.docm is by default a macro enabled template.
kind regards
  #7  
Old October 31st 13, 02:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Stefan Blom[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Re saving macros problem

You can't delete the Normal template unless you first exit Word.
However, I recommend that you don't delete the template but rename it
instead.

Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




On 2013-10-28 05:43, kaye123 wrote:
'Stefan Blom[_3_ Wrote:
;494862']Since you have replied to an old thread, I see your post out of
context
(because I'm using an NNTP newsreader where older messages get deleted
regularly).

In what way do you want to change the footnotes in Word? Which version
of
Word are you using?

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP

Hello Stephan and Lisa
Using Word 2010 Win 32 bit
Can I start again because I have been doing some trouble shooting
although I am not sure I can make my problem clear. I have had a macro
for footnotes and I was using it trouble free. It is still in global
templates. It was just a margin setting in footnotes. I have a lot of
add ons because I have endnote citation software that opens with Word.
1. My main problem was that I have inadvertently saved some files in
word and others in macro template. I didn't create this and donít know
how it happened. HOWEVER
2 I now have a normal.dotm problem. As a result I have a lot of files
that appear to be roaming files and I cannot open them.
3 Normal.dotm. I only have one normal file which is macro enabled as I
deleted all the others although I didnít have any that were not macro
enabled. But I cannot delete the last one because I get the message
that I have a word document open elsewhere. I donít have an actual
document open but I do have word open without a document. I canít get
rid of this until I save it but then I get a message that a file is open
so I donít save and it goes away until I open a word file again. So I go
for donít save and of course it comes back again.
4 So I do not have a normal.dotm word file, just a normal.docm in macro
enabled templates.

I have tried a few things. In options, advanced, I do not have prompt
before saving ticked.
I have searched for normal.dotm and only have the macro enabled
normal.dotm. I cannot delete this because I have the file open again. I
also get a lot of files that are read only files. So all sorts of
problems. This has only been happening over a week. Another option I
have changed is preserve fidelity when sharing. I have ticked saved
embedded fonts. I donít know if this will fix the italics problem. In
cut copy and paste I have changed to keep source formatting. But this
seems to revert back to other options.
I receive files back from proofreading and they come back to me ok.
So my first problem is dealing with the normal.dotm files.
I hope you can make sense of this.

kind regards





  #8  
Old October 31st 13, 02:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Stefan Blom[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Re saving macros problem

Could you show us the code of the macro in question?

With regards to italics being a toggle, this just means that if you
apply italics to regular text, you get italics (not surprisingly).
However, if you apply it again to the same text, you get regular text back.

This may cause unexpected results if there is a style conflict and/or if
italics resurface if you haven't modified a style correctly.

Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




On 2013-10-31 02:13, kaye123 wrote:
I have posted a full explanation of my problem. However as to the
italics this appears to be separate as the macro is just for spacing of
the footnotes and other documents haven't been changed. What do you mean
here please? Why are3 some docs ok and not others?
ITALIC usually toggles: normal text will be
formatted italic, italic text will be formatted
back to normal. If it wasn't anything to do with the macro what else
would cause this please? However if it is related to my overall
problems oformal.docm please advise? OI have added a bit onto my problem
and a link that tells me what happens but not a solution. I stated that
I now know that normal.docm is by default a macro enabled template.
kind regards




  #9  
Old November 2nd 13, 12:09 AM
kaye123 kaye123 is offline
Junior Member
 
First recorded activity by WordBanter: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Blom[_3_] View Post
Could you show us the code of the macro in question?

With regards to italics being a toggle, this just means that if you
apply italics to regular text, you get italics (not surprisingly).
However, if you apply it again to the same text, you get regular text back.

This may cause unexpected results if there is a style conflict and/or if
italics resurface if you haven't modified a style correctly.

Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




[/i][/color]
Stefan I have tried to send you a reply and lost it twice. I had to got back to a capacha page and sign in again. I lost this so just trying again. I sent the script in this post. Should I have attached it.

Regards
  #10  
Old November 2nd 13, 12:27 AM
kaye123 kaye123 is offline
Junior Member
 
First recorded activity by WordBanter: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaye123 View Post
Stefan I have tried to send you a reply and lost it twice. I had to got back to a capacha page and sign in again. I lost this so just trying again. I sent the script in this post. Should I have attached it.

Regards


Regards[/quote]

Thanks Stefan . Ok will try again and see if I can attach macro..

Macro. Obviously this is stopping my message from going through.

Normal template :.
This article describes my problem in "Read only mode" with screenshots. http://www.wordarticles.com/Articles...tes/Normal.php
I also get documents back from proofing but this has been fine for months. No problem. Should I change any settings to allow this.

Italics
These are only in footnotes an I use endnote citation software. I have had to redo it manually but it reverts. I found some endnote files in global template. Perhaps they are not supposed to be there , I only recall one of them being there.Sent a post to forum but no reply. It hasnít changed any of my other proofed documents. It seemed to happen with normal template.

Macro
It is just for changing footnote to ordinary number not superscript and gives me spacing.
I have been using it a long time now. Strange. I went to make a new word doc to past macro but the new doc had writing on it. it is one I used for a couple of lines yesterday but it was still there in a new document!!
I have attached the doc from word..

Stefan just went into normal template and it brought up the same blank doc that had words written on it. Does this help explain any problems? When I sent the above message to you I got another message about template but too quick to see. Closed word and went into normal.docm and that is when I found the new document with words still on it. This is getting worse.Many thanks

Last edited by kaye123 : November 2nd 13 at 12:35 AM. Reason: More information
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving Macros fuscia Microsoft Word Help 1 June 18th 12 10:52 PM
saving macros silverstudent Microsoft Word Help 1 November 13th 08 09:45 AM
Saving macros Office_user Microsoft Word Help 1 August 23rd 07 02:21 PM
Saving Macros NSobel Microsoft Word Help 1 July 2nd 07 06:26 PM
I cannot run macros on another computer after saving ridefixer Microsoft Word Help 1 August 30th 05 03:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2021 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.