#1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Joe McGuire Joe McGuire is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default Renaming a macro

This is a simple question (I apologize) but I could not figure out how
tochange the name of one of my macros. When I tried to do this in Tools,
Macros, Edit the macro disappeared from my list of macros. I was able to
get it back pretty easily, but only with the old name. Then I tried Tools,
Templates & Add-Ins, Organizer, but there was nothing in the macro Projects
Items except NewMacros. NO sign of mine. But there MUST be a way to rename
the macro. How? I have a Keyboard Shortcut to run that macro. Will it
still work if the macro is renamed?

(Is this a duplicate posting? I had submitted this 1/7 at 3:15 pm but never
saw it posted. There seems to be an unusual gap in postings between 1/7 and
1/8. Seems there were no postings after 2:44 pm on 1/7 until 6:53 am 1/8.
I am guessing that there was some problem.)


  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Carol Carol is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 408
Default Renaming a macro

To rename a macro, follow the steps below:
Choose Tools | Macro | Macros.
Select the macro you would like to rename.
Choose Edit. This opens the Visual Basic editor.
When the Visual Basic editor pens, change the name of the macro to what you
would rather it be.
Close the window.

--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

This is a simple question (I apologize) but I could not figure out how
tochange the name of one of my macros. When I tried to do this in Tools,
Macros, Edit the macro disappeared from my list of macros. I was able to
get it back pretty easily, but only with the old name. Then I tried Tools,
Templates & Add-Ins, Organizer, but there was nothing in the macro Projects
Items except NewMacros. NO sign of mine. But there MUST be a way to rename
the macro. How? I have a Keyboard Shortcut to run that macro. Will it
still work if the macro is renamed?

(Is this a duplicate posting? I had submitted this 1/7 at 3:15 pm but never
saw it posted. There seems to be an unusual gap in postings between 1/7 and
1/8. Seems there were no postings after 2:44 pm on 1/7 until 6:53 am 1/8.
I am guessing that there was some problem.)



  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Joe McGuire Joe McGuire is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default Renaming a macro

Thanks! I assume you mean when the Visual Basic Editor opens. Wht exactly
do I change? Here is what I see as to this macro, currently named Paste,
below a horizontal line at the end of a macro above it in the editor:

Sub Paste ( )
'
' Paste Macro [text in green]
' paste unformatted text into Word [text in green]
'
[Macro text]

When I tried this before posting I had changed the name Paste in the editor
and the macro disappeared (i.e., from Tools | Macros | Macros) but I don't
remember which "Paste" I changed. So I have a 50% chance of repeating the
error!

"Carol" wrote in message
...
To rename a macro, follow the steps below:
Choose Tools | Macro | Macros.
Select the macro you would like to rename.
Choose Edit. This opens the Visual Basic editor.
When the Visual Basic editor pens, change the name of the macro to what
you
would rather it be.
Close the window.

--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

This is a simple question (I apologize) but I could not figure out how
tochange the name of one of my macros. When I tried to do this in Tools,
Macros, Edit the macro disappeared from my list of macros. I was able to
get it back pretty easily, but only with the old name. Then I tried
Tools,
Templates & Add-Ins, Organizer, but there was nothing in the macro
Projects
Items except NewMacros. NO sign of mine. But there MUST be a way to
rename
the macro. How? I have a Keyboard Shortcut to run that macro. Will it
still work if the macro is renamed?

(Is this a duplicate posting? I had submitted this 1/7 at 3:15 pm but
never
saw it posted. There seems to be an unusual gap in postings between 1/7
and
1/8. Seems there were no postings after 2:44 pm on 1/7 until 6:53 am
1/8.
I am guessing that there was some problem.)





  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Carol Carol is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 408
Default Renaming a macro

At the top of the macro is the keyword "Sub" followed by he macro name, then
a pair of parentheses. Change the macro name the way you want, but leave
"sub" there and the parentheses.
--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

Thanks! I assume you mean when the Visual Basic Editor opens. Wht exactly
do I change? Here is what I see as to this macro, currently named Paste,
below a horizontal line at the end of a macro above it in the editor:

Sub Paste ( )
'
' Paste Macro [text in green]
' paste unformatted text into Word [text in green]
'
[Macro text]

When I tried this before posting I had changed the name Paste in the editor
and the macro disappeared (i.e., from Tools | Macros | Macros) but I don't
remember which "Paste" I changed. So I have a 50% chance of repeating the
error!

"Carol" wrote in message
...
To rename a macro, follow the steps below:
Choose Tools | Macro | Macros.
Select the macro you would like to rename.
Choose Edit. This opens the Visual Basic editor.
When the Visual Basic editor pens, change the name of the macro to what
you
would rather it be.
Close the window.

--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

This is a simple question (I apologize) but I could not figure out how
tochange the name of one of my macros. When I tried to do this in Tools,
Macros, Edit the macro disappeared from my list of macros. I was able to
get it back pretty easily, but only with the old name. Then I tried
Tools,
Templates & Add-Ins, Organizer, but there was nothing in the macro
Projects
Items except NewMacros. NO sign of mine. But there MUST be a way to
rename
the macro. How? I have a Keyboard Shortcut to run that macro. Will it
still work if the macro is renamed?

(Is this a duplicate posting? I had submitted this 1/7 at 3:15 pm but
never
saw it posted. There seems to be an unusual gap in postings between 1/7
and
1/8. Seems there were no postings after 2:44 pm on 1/7 until 6:53 am
1/8.
I am guessing that there was some problem.)






  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Joe McGuire Joe McGuire is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default Renaming a macro

Thanks! Works fine now!

"Carol" wrote in message
...
At the top of the macro is the keyword "Sub" followed by he macro name,
then
a pair of parentheses. Change the macro name the way you want, but leave
"sub" there and the parentheses.
--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

Thanks! I assume you mean when the Visual Basic Editor opens. Wht
exactly
do I change? Here is what I see as to this macro, currently named Paste,
below a horizontal line at the end of a macro above it in the editor:

Sub Paste ( )
'
' Paste Macro [text in green]
' paste unformatted text into Word [text in green]
'
[Macro text]

When I tried this before posting I had changed the name Paste in the
editor
and the macro disappeared (i.e., from Tools | Macros | Macros) but I
don't
remember which "Paste" I changed. So I have a 50% chance of repeating
the
error!

"Carol" wrote in message
...
To rename a macro, follow the steps below:
Choose Tools | Macro | Macros.
Select the macro you would like to rename.
Choose Edit. This opens the Visual Basic editor.
When the Visual Basic editor pens, change the name of the macro to what
you
would rather it be.
Close the window.

--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

This is a simple question (I apologize) but I could not figure out
how
tochange the name of one of my macros. When I tried to do this in
Tools,
Macros, Edit the macro disappeared from my list of macros. I was able
to
get it back pretty easily, but only with the old name. Then I tried
Tools,
Templates & Add-Ins, Organizer, but there was nothing in the macro
Projects
Items except NewMacros. NO sign of mine. But there MUST be a way to
rename
the macro. How? I have a Keyboard Shortcut to run that macro. Will
it
still work if the macro is renamed?

(Is this a duplicate posting? I had submitted this 1/7 at 3:15 pm but
never
saw it posted. There seems to be an unusual gap in postings between
1/7
and
1/8. Seems there were no postings after 2:44 pm on 1/7 until 6:53 am
1/8.
I am guessing that there was some problem.)










  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Carol Carol is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 408
Default Renaming a macro

Glad that I was able to help you!
--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

Thanks! Works fine now!

"Carol" wrote in message
...
At the top of the macro is the keyword "Sub" followed by he macro name,
then
a pair of parentheses. Change the macro name the way you want, but leave
"sub" there and the parentheses.
--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

Thanks! I assume you mean when the Visual Basic Editor opens. Wht
exactly
do I change? Here is what I see as to this macro, currently named Paste,
below a horizontal line at the end of a macro above it in the editor:

Sub Paste ( )
'
' Paste Macro [text in green]
' paste unformatted text into Word [text in green]
'
[Macro text]

When I tried this before posting I had changed the name Paste in the
editor
and the macro disappeared (i.e., from Tools | Macros | Macros) but I
don't
remember which "Paste" I changed. So I have a 50% chance of repeating
the
error!

"Carol" wrote in message
...
To rename a macro, follow the steps below:
Choose Tools | Macro | Macros.
Select the macro you would like to rename.
Choose Edit. This opens the Visual Basic editor.
When the Visual Basic editor pens, change the name of the macro to what
you
would rather it be.
Close the window.

--
Carol A. Bratt, MCP



"Joe McGuire" wrote:

This is a simple question (I apologize) but I could not figure out
how
tochange the name of one of my macros. When I tried to do this in
Tools,
Macros, Edit the macro disappeared from my list of macros. I was able
to
get it back pretty easily, but only with the old name. Then I tried
Tools,
Templates & Add-Ins, Organizer, but there was nothing in the macro
Projects
Items except NewMacros. NO sign of mine. But there MUST be a way to
rename
the macro. How? I have a Keyboard Shortcut to run that macro. Will
it
still work if the macro is renamed?

(Is this a duplicate posting? I had submitted this 1/7 at 3:15 pm but
never
saw it posted. There seems to be an unusual gap in postings between
1/7
and
1/8. Seems there were no postings after 2:44 pm on 1/7 until 6:53 am
1/8.
I am guessing that there was some problem.)









Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renaming a macro Joe McGuire Microsoft Word Help 1 January 7th 08 09:49 PM
Renaming a Macro Joe McGuire Microsoft Word Help 2 January 26th 07 05:41 PM
Renaming a file Mary Courneyea Microsoft Word Help 2 August 11th 06 09:39 PM
Renaming Styles brecooke Microsoft Word Help 3 June 16th 05 05:21 PM
Renaming files ChrisR Microsoft Word Help 1 February 8th 05 07:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:36 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"