Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Jack Jack is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default Losing textbox on table

I have a text box on a page that has a table. The text box is above the
table. When I drag the text box to place into a cell in the table, it
disappears. The strange thing is that when I drag it so part is off the
table and some is on it, all of the text box displays ok. However, dragging
further in it disappears.
I am not sure what is happening. I have other text boxes that can be
dragged into other cells and they work ok. I have the layout set to "In
front of text"
Jack


  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod macropod is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,002
Default Losing textbox on table

Hi Jack,

Could be a display driver problem. Have you tried scrolling up/down to an
area that doesn't show either the table or text box, then back again, after
moving the text box? Does that have any effect?

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I have a text box on a page that has a table. The text box is above the
table. When I drag the text box to place into a cell in the table, it
disappears. The strange thing is that when I drag it so part is off the
table and some is on it, all of the text box displays ok. However,

dragging
further in it disappears.
I am not sure what is happening. I have other text boxes that can be
dragged into other cells and they work ok. I have the layout set to "In
front of text"
Jack




  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Jack Jack is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default Losing textbox on table

I tried that and it didnt make any difference
Jack
"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi Jack,

Could be a display driver problem. Have you tried scrolling up/down to an
area that doesn't show either the table or text box, then back again,
after
moving the text box? Does that have any effect?

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I have a text box on a page that has a table. The text box is above the
table. When I drag the text box to place into a cell in the table, it
disappears. The strange thing is that when I drag it so part is off the
table and some is on it, all of the text box displays ok. However,

dragging
further in it disappears.
I am not sure what is happening. I have other text boxes that can be
dragged into other cells and they work ok. I have the layout set to "In
front of text"
Jack






  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod macropod is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,002
Default Losing textbox on table

Hi Jack,

It could still be a display driver problem. Have you checked for later
'release' drivers (i.e. not betas) for your video card?

Also, try going into the control panel and reducing the amount of hardware
acceleration.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I tried that and it didnt make any difference
Jack
"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi Jack,

Could be a display driver problem. Have you tried scrolling up/down to

an
area that doesn't show either the table or text box, then back again,
after
moving the text box? Does that have any effect?

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I have a text box on a page that has a table. The text box is above

the
table. When I drag the text box to place into a cell in the table, it
disappears. The strange thing is that when I drag it so part is off

the
table and some is on it, all of the text box displays ok. However,

dragging
further in it disappears.
I am not sure what is happening. I have other text boxes that can be
dragged into other cells and they work ok. I have the layout set to

"In
front of text"
Jack








  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Jack Jack is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default Losing textbox on table

I see you have the mvp credentials. I have another question that relates to
my previous one that yu may have some insight. I have several(like 13)
tables and a separte textbox that is rectangular which is located on the
last page of the document.. What i want to do is change the text in the
box, copy that textbox and paste a copy in one of the table cells using VBA
code. I would repeat this for each of the tables.
That would help solve my manual placing it there. The reason for doing it
in code I have a number of these to place

I have tried code like:

set tbl=activedocument.tables(i)
set shp=activedocument.shapes("TemplateBox")
'Change text in box
shp.textframe.textrange.text="bbbbbb"or whatever
shp.select
selection.copy
set rng=tlb.range.cells(2).range
rng.paste


that works on the first table(although it in not quite in the proper
cell..but I can move it around). But when I do it on a subsequent table, I
get an error 4198
If you can guide me on this, I wont worry about my orginal question
Thanks
Jack


"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi Jack,

It could still be a display driver problem. Have you checked for later
'release' drivers (i.e. not betas) for your video card?

Also, try going into the control panel and reducing the amount of hardware
acceleration.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I tried that and it didnt make any difference
Jack
"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi Jack,

Could be a display driver problem. Have you tried scrolling up/down to

an
area that doesn't show either the table or text box, then back again,
after
moving the text box? Does that have any effect?

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I have a text box on a page that has a table. The text box is above

the
table. When I drag the text box to place into a cell in the table, it
disappears. The strange thing is that when I drag it so part is off

the
table and some is on it, all of the text box displays ok. However,
dragging
further in it disappears.
I am not sure what is happening. I have other text boxes that can be
dragged into other cells and they work ok. I have the layout set to

"In
front of text"
Jack












  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod macropod is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,002
Default Losing textbox on table

Hi Jack,

I'm not quite sure what you're trying to do here, but it looks as though
you're trying to capture the user's input into a text box and transfer that
to particular table cells. The code you posted, though, seems to simply
create additional text boxes instead.

If you're trying to capture the user's input and transfer that to particular
table cells, try something like the following:

Sub Table_Input()
Dim i As Integer
Dim str As String
For i = 1 To ActiveDocument.Tables.Count
With ActiveDocument.Tables(i).Cell(2, 2)
str = Left(.Range.Text, Len(.Range.Text) - 2)
.Range.Delete
.Range.Text = InputBox("Text to input in table " & i, , str)
End With
Next i
End Sub

The above code cycles through all tables in the document, clearing the
contents of cell B2 and soliciting a new text string with the original text
as the default. The user can then clear, edit/replace or add to the former
string. If you need to have the last table's update reflected in a text box,
the code for that could be added to the macro.

An even simpler way to update the tables would be to insert text formfields
into the appropriate cells, and protect the document for forms. The document
wouldn't automatically solicit input for each formfield, though that could
be driven from code, but the user wouldn't be restricted to updating a few
cells by running a macro that cycles though all tables.

If this isn't helpful, on which line of code were you getting the error
4198? Some more of your code for context would help too.

Cheers
PS: Typo in your posted code - 'tbl' is defined 'set
tbl=activedocument.tables(i)', but 'tlb' is used 'set
rng=tlb.range.cells(2).range'.

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I see you have the mvp credentials. I have another question that relates

to
my previous one that yu may have some insight. I have several(like 13)
tables and a separte textbox that is rectangular which is located on the
last page of the document.. What i want to do is change the text in the
box, copy that textbox and paste a copy in one of the table cells using

VBA
code. I would repeat this for each of the tables.
That would help solve my manual placing it there. The reason for doing it
in code I have a number of these to place

I have tried code like:

set tbl=activedocument.tables(i)
set shp=activedocument.shapes("TemplateBox")
'Change text in box
shp.textframe.textrange.text="bbbbbb"or whatever
shp.select
selection.copy
set rng=tlb.range.cells(2).range
rng.paste


that works on the first table(although it in not quite in the proper
cell..but I can move it around). But when I do it on a subsequent table,

I
get an error 4198
If you can guide me on this, I wont worry about my orginal question
Thanks
Jack


"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi Jack,

It could still be a display driver problem. Have you checked for later
'release' drivers (i.e. not betas) for your video card?

Also, try going into the control panel and reducing the amount of

hardware
acceleration.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I tried that and it didnt make any difference
Jack
"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi Jack,

Could be a display driver problem. Have you tried scrolling up/down

to
an
area that doesn't show either the table or text box, then back again,
after
moving the text box? Does that have any effect?

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"Jack" wrote in message
. ..
I have a text box on a page that has a table. The text box is above

the
table. When I drag the text box to place into a cell in the table,

it
disappears. The strange thing is that when I drag it so part is off

the
table and some is on it, all of the text box displays ok. However,
dragging
further in it disappears.
I am not sure what is happening. I have other text boxes that can

be
dragged into other cells and they work ok. I have the layout set to

"In
front of text"
Jack












Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Populate Table from Access MTechG Mailmerge 8 December 16th 05 07:08 PM
Table Format Style vs. Table Text Style WebColin Page Layout 11 December 1st 05 11:29 PM
Table style keeps losing its font Todd Crandell Tables 6 May 27th 05 06:49 PM
Table AutoFormats vs. Table Styles confusion Tony Jollans Tables 5 March 6th 05 07:18 PM
Row height problem with table in table Stephanie T. Tables 0 November 23rd 04 03:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:37 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"