Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
GeorgeMar
 
Posts: n/a
Default Moving templates to other computer

I have a Word document created from a Word template that contains AutoText
and Macros. When I use the document on the computer where it was created,
the macros work fine.

Then I put the document on another computer along with the template through
ToolsTemplate and Addins. It seems to work. (or maybe I also save the
document as template.)

If I make a copy of the document in explorer, the document works just as well.

I have an application in Access VBA that creates a Word doc by doing
FileCopy of the base document into a new document. That copy does not see
the template's macros.

In short, if I copy in Explorer, it works and if I copy in Access it doesnot
work.

Any suggestions.

What is the proper way to move templates from one computer to another?
Perhaps that is where I am going wrong.

many thanks
george
  #2   Report Post  
Cindy M -WordMVP-
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi ?B?R2VvcmdlTWFy?=,

I have a Word document created from a Word template that contains AutoText
and Macros. When I use the document on the computer where it was created,
the macros work fine.

Then I put the document on another computer along with the template through
ToolsTemplate and Addins. It seems to work. (or maybe I also save the
document as template.)

If I make a copy of the document in explorer, the document works just as well.

Exactly how are you doing this?

I have an application in Access VBA that creates a Word doc by doing
FileCopy of the base document into a new document. That copy does not see
the template's macros.

Why would you use FileCopy instead of the Documents.Add method of the Word
object model?

Have you set up this template as a global addin, or is it simply attached to the
document? When you use FileCopy and open the document in Word, what is the
attached template?

In short, if I copy in Explorer, it works and if I copy in Access it doesnot
work.


Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #3   Report Post  
GeorgeMar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you Cindy

This is causing me some problems.

Firstly, I use FileCopy because I am copying from a base document
(basefilename) that contains the bulk of the data and the layout, to a new
document (newfilename) I then customise the document using
documents.add(newfilename)

The base document and its associated template are created on my development
computer. I then put the document and the template on the customer's server.
I did not use an add-in. On the customer's server, I saved the template as a
template and that only created a local template.(and the macros were missing.
I had to copy them in again)

Here is where I am having the problem. On the customer's server, I can't
get the document to see the template. I have managed to get it to work on
one local machine, by almost rebuilding the template on that local machine,
but not across the network.

The question is, what is the best way to transfer the template from my
development machine to the customer's server and how do I get the users to
see the common template across the network?

Your help is most appreciated.

Thanks
George


"Cindy M -WordMVP-" wrote:

Hi ?B?R2VvcmdlTWFy?=,

I have a Word document created from a Word template that contains AutoText
and Macros. When I use the document on the computer where it was created,
the macros work fine.

Then I put the document on another computer along with the template through
ToolsTemplate and Addins. It seems to work. (or maybe I also save the
document as template.)

If I make a copy of the document in explorer, the document works just as well.

Exactly how are you doing this?

I have an application in Access VBA that creates a Word doc by doing
FileCopy of the base document into a new document. That copy does not see
the template's macros.

Why would you use FileCopy instead of the Documents.Add method of the Word
object model?

Have you set up this template as a global addin, or is it simply attached to the
document? When you use FileCopy and open the document in Word, what is the
attached template?

In short, if I copy in Explorer, it works and if I copy in Access it doesnot
work.


Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)


  #4   Report Post  
Cindy M -WordMVP-
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi ?B?R2VvcmdlTWFy?=,

This is causing me some problems.

A lot of your problems sound really strange to me. Macros shouldn't be getting
"lost" from a file, if they're in the file (document). It may be unfair to you,
but I have to assume you're doing something wrong; what isn't apparent from the
description, however.

A template in a shared network location. Set that folder for the users'
"Workgroup templates" option (Tools/options/file locations or, better, a system
policy to make the setting in the Registry). The template will always be
available via File/New.

Other than that, if a template is located in a folder with all the necessary
permissions, any document should be able to "see" it, if it has been properly
attached to the template (Tools/Templates and Addins). If the file path to a
template could be changing, it helps to list that location in the environment's
PATH setting.

Firstly, I use FileCopy because I am copying from a base document
(basefilename) that contains the bulk of the data and the layout, to a new
document (newfilename) I then customise the document using
documents.add(newfilename)

The base document and its associated template are created on my development
computer. I then put the document and the template on the customer's server.
I did not use an add-in. On the customer's server, I saved the template as a
template and that only created a local template.(and the macros were missing.
I had to copy them in again)

Here is where I am having the problem. On the customer's server, I can't
get the document to see the template. I have managed to get it to work on
one local machine, by almost rebuilding the template on that local machine,
but not across the network.

The question is, what is the best way to transfer the template from my
development machine to the customer's server and how do I get the users to
see the common template across the network?


Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #5   Report Post  
GeorgeMar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cindy

Thank you again and bear with me for my ignorance.

What I am trying to achieve is to place tick boxes in a document that is
automatically generated by an Access VBA Apps. I shall try to elaborate:

1. I create a template on my local machine that contains the two macros and
the two Autotext (because Autotext cannot be carried in the document).

2. I create a document on my local machine that is based on the above
template (using FileNew).

3. I copy the template somewhere on the server and save it as a template,
which saves it in the common template directory.

4. MyAccess Apps creates new documents by copying the document save in 2.
above and add some additional data from the Apps to the new document.

5. The newly created document by my Apps resides on the server and can be
accessed by users from anywhere.

4. Users can edit the document before printing, including using the tick
boxes.

That is when the problem starts. When they double click the box nothing
happens i.e the macro is not working.

Would you have had the macros in the base document rather than in the
template?
What is the proper way to save the template to make it global; put it
anywhere on the server and put the path in the workgroup template or is
saving as a .dot enough for it to be seen by others.

I was hoping that the newly created document would find the template on the
server if it can't find it anywhere else.

Thanks again
george






"Cindy M -WordMVP-" wrote:

Hi ?B?R2VvcmdlTWFy?=,

This is causing me some problems.

A lot of your problems sound really strange to me. Macros shouldn't be getting
"lost" from a file, if they're in the file (document). It may be unfair to you,
but I have to assume you're doing something wrong; what isn't apparent from the
description, however.

A template in a shared network location. Set that folder for the users'
"Workgroup templates" option (Tools/options/file locations or, better, a system
policy to make the setting in the Registry). The template will always be
available via File/New.

Other than that, if a template is located in a folder with all the necessary
permissions, any document should be able to "see" it, if it has been properly
attached to the template (Tools/Templates and Addins). If the file path to a
template could be changing, it helps to list that location in the environment's
PATH setting.

Firstly, I use FileCopy because I am copying from a base document
(basefilename) that contains the bulk of the data and the layout, to a new
document (newfilename) I then customise the document using
documents.add(newfilename)

The base document and its associated template are created on my development
computer. I then put the document and the template on the customer's server.
I did not use an add-in. On the customer's server, I saved the template as a
template and that only created a local template.(and the macros were missing.
I had to copy them in again)

Here is where I am having the problem. On the customer's server, I can't
get the document to see the template. I have managed to get it to work on
one local machine, by almost rebuilding the template on that local machine,
but not across the network.

The question is, what is the best way to transfer the template from my
development machine to the customer's server and how do I get the users to
see the common template across the network?


Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)




  #6   Report Post  
Charles Kenyon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The problem is that your AutoText and macros must reside in a template and
your documents, when moved, are not staying attached to the template. A few
years ago I worked out a solution (with much help from the people here) that
involved storing these in a global template but it may not work in Word
2003. You are welcome to look at it and if it seems to be what you want, we
can work on updating it. Take a look at the Checkbox template available at
http://www.addbalance.com/word/downl...#CheckboxAddIn.
--

Charles Kenyon

Word New User FAQ & Web Directory: http://addbalance.com/word

Intermediate User's Guide to Microsoft Word (supplemented version of
Microsoft's Legal Users' Guide) http://addbalance.com/usersguide

See also the MVP FAQ: http://www.mvps.org/word which is awesome!
--------- --------- --------- --------- --------- ---------
This message is posted to a newsgroup. Please post replies
and questions to the newsgroup so that others can learn
from my ignorance and your wisdom.
"GeorgeMar" wrote in message
...
Cindy

Thank you again and bear with me for my ignorance.

What I am trying to achieve is to place tick boxes in a document that is
automatically generated by an Access VBA Apps. I shall try to elaborate:

1. I create a template on my local machine that contains the two macros
and
the two Autotext (because Autotext cannot be carried in the document).

2. I create a document on my local machine that is based on the above
template (using FileNew).

3. I copy the template somewhere on the server and save it as a template,
which saves it in the common template directory.

4. MyAccess Apps creates new documents by copying the document save in 2.
above and add some additional data from the Apps to the new document.

5. The newly created document by my Apps resides on the server and can be
accessed by users from anywhere.

4. Users can edit the document before printing, including using the tick
boxes.

That is when the problem starts. When they double click the box nothing
happens i.e the macro is not working.

Would you have had the macros in the base document rather than in the
template?
What is the proper way to save the template to make it global; put it
anywhere on the server and put the path in the workgroup template or is
saving as a .dot enough for it to be seen by others.

I was hoping that the newly created document would find the template on
the
server if it can't find it anywhere else.

Thanks again
george






"Cindy M -WordMVP-" wrote:

Hi ?B?R2VvcmdlTWFy?=,

This is causing me some problems.

A lot of your problems sound really strange to me. Macros shouldn't be
getting
"lost" from a file, if they're in the file (document). It may be unfair
to you,
but I have to assume you're doing something wrong; what isn't apparent
from the
description, however.

A template in a shared network location. Set that folder for the users'
"Workgroup templates" option (Tools/options/file locations or, better, a
system
policy to make the setting in the Registry). The template will always be
available via File/New.

Other than that, if a template is located in a folder with all the
necessary
permissions, any document should be able to "see" it, if it has been
properly
attached to the template (Tools/Templates and Addins). If the file path
to a
template could be changing, it helps to list that location in the
environment's
PATH setting.

Firstly, I use FileCopy because I am copying from a base document
(basefilename) that contains the bulk of the data and the layout, to a
new
document (newfilename) I then customise the document using
documents.add(newfilename)

The base document and its associated template are created on my
development
computer. I then put the document and the template on the customer's
server.
I did not use an add-in. On the customer's server, I saved the template
as a
template and that only created a local template.(and the macros were
missing.
I had to copy them in again)

Here is where I am having the problem. On the customer's server, I
can't
get the document to see the template. I have managed to get it to work
on
one local machine, by almost rebuilding the template on that local
machine,
but not across the network.

The question is, what is the best way to transfer the template from my
development machine to the customer's server and how do I get the users
to
see the common template across the network?


Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or
reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)




Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with word templates Luis Estevens Microsoft Word Help 3 January 27th 05 02:10 PM
Bring custom toolbars with templates art Page Layout 2 January 21st 05 05:35 PM
Cannot Find Templates HurricaneJeanne New Users 1 January 13th 05 07:50 AM
Templates on my computer Terry T Microsoft Word Help 2 December 29th 04 06:19 PM
Templates in too many languages. Only need English. capt_dalton Microsoft Word Help 0 December 2nd 04 10:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:21 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"