#1   Report Post  

Default Text box macro

Can someone point me towards code that will create a text box and place the insertion point inside the box? I’m a novice at vb. I can record a macro that creates the box but the insertion point remains outside.
  #2   Report Post  

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamSwindon View Post
Can someone point me towards code that will create a text box and place the insertion point inside the box? I’m a novice at vb. I can record a macro that creates the box but the insertion point remains outside.
I gave it a try... it seems for me when it created a text box, the dummy text in the box was already highlighted, which meant I didn't have to select it, could just hit paste.

Highlight the text you want to insert in a text box then run the macro. This includes a command taking you to the top of the paragraph that text is in before inserting your text box. By the way you can't mouse click to do that while recording a macro; the keystrokes are CONTROL + UP_ARROW keys.

Sub Macro1()
'
' Macro1 Macro
'
'
Selection.Copy
Selection.MoveUp Unit:=wdParagraph, Count:=1
ActiveDocument.Shapes.Range(Array("Text Box 2")).Select
Application.Templates( _
"C:\Users\[me]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Document Building Blocks\1033\14\Built-In Building Blocks.dotx" _
).BuildingBlockEntries(" Simple Text Box").Insert Whe=Selection.Range, _
RichText:=True
Selection.PasteAndFormat (wdFormatOriginalFormatting)
End Sub

What I use is not properly a text box, but a single cell table, which is what some of our engineering documents use as a callout text box to highlight significant text in the documents.