A Microsoft Word forum. Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter forum » Microsoft Word Newsgroups » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 4th 06, 01:11 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same information
into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100 entries into auto
correct, it will work on the first line but not on the second, it will work
on the third but not the fourth. so on and so on. Does anyone know what I am
doing wrong? Please help I am stuck and it is hard to do the autocorrect in
one line and drag everything else. So back to my question how do apply this
to my whole document?
Thanks
Ads
  #2  
Old March 4th 06, 01:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

I don't AutoCorrect is what you are needing. It sounds like you need to use
REF fields in all the place you what 'like' data repeated. See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same
information into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100
entries into auto correct, it will work on the first line but not on
the second, it will work on the third but not the fourth. so on and
so on. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Please help I am stuck
and it is hard to do the autocorrect in one line and drag everything
else. So back to my question how do apply this to my whole document?
Thanks



  #3  
Old March 4th 06, 01:51 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

Thank You Greg for responding
I work for inspectors to a refinery. The inspectors give me there checklist
with a code and here is an example: 1.1 may mean "paint damage on plugs" &
1.0 may mean "inspect paint damage" I have alot of those. Not all my
documents are the same but I do use the same info. That is the reason for the
autocorrect. It does work and it makes my job go alot faster when I don't
have to type the entire sentences, you know. But what works on one line
doesn't work on the second line. What I do know is enter everything for that
checklist onto one line and then I drag it to its proper place. It is time
consuming. Do you have ANY suggestions?



"Greg Maxey" wrote:

I don't AutoCorrect is what you are needing. It sounds like you need to use
REF fields in all the place you what 'like' data repeated. See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same
information into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100
entries into auto correct, it will work on the first line but not on
the second, it will work on the third but not the fourth. so on and
so on. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Please help I am stuck
and it is hard to do the autocorrect in one line and drag everything
else. So back to my question how do apply this to my whole document?
Thanks




  #4  
Old March 4th 06, 02:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

So are you saying that you have created a bunch of autocorrect entries

e.g, Replace: 1.0 With: inspect paint damage

and they work in lines 1, 3, 5, etc. of your document put not in line 2, 4,
6 etc. ?

That is odd and I have to say I don't have an answer. I suppose Suzanne
Barnhill has about anything about Autocorrect that might help he
http://word.mvps.org/faqs/customization/AutoCorrect.htm but I don't think
the problem is AutoCorrect. Sounds document related somehow.

You might consider using AutoText

Type out: inspect paint damage and select it. Press ALT+F3 then name it
somthing like xx1.1 (it has to be four or more unique characters), then when
you type xx1.1 and the autocomplete tip displays, press enter.

Another possibility is to simply type your form using your codes and then go
back and run a macro that will replace all of the codes with the the correct
phrases. I have a macro that does this from a Find and Replace Word List
file.

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
Thank You Greg for responding
I work for inspectors to a refinery. The inspectors give me there
checklist with a code and here is an example: 1.1 may mean "paint
damage on plugs" &
1.0 may mean "inspect paint damage" I have alot of those. Not all my
documents are the same but I do use the same info. That is the reason
for the autocorrect. It does work and it makes my job go alot faster
when I don't have to type the entire sentences, you know. But what
works on one line doesn't work on the second line. What I do know is
enter everything for that checklist onto one line and then I drag it
to its proper place. It is time consuming. Do you have ANY
suggestions?



"Greg Maxey" wrote:

I don't AutoCorrect is what you are needing. It sounds like you
need to use REF fields in all the place you what 'like' data
repeated. See: http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same
information into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100
entries into auto correct, it will work on the first line but not on
the second, it will work on the third but not the fourth. so on and
so on. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Please help I am
stuck and it is hard to do the autocorrect in one line and drag
everything else. So back to my question how do apply this to my
whole document? Thanks



  #5  
Old March 4th 06, 04:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

Plain-text Autocorrects are language dependent. Is it possible that
alternate lines in your document(s) have different languages set? Sounds a
bit far fetched, I know, but I'm not quite sure what your documents are like
and if they are preformatted maybe some apparently insignificant difference
got copied and pasted a lot.

--
Enjoy,
Tony


"AngieJ" wrote in message
...
Thank You Greg for responding
I work for inspectors to a refinery. The inspectors give me there

checklist
with a code and here is an example: 1.1 may mean "paint damage on plugs"

&
1.0 may mean "inspect paint damage" I have alot of those. Not all my
documents are the same but I do use the same info. That is the reason for

the
autocorrect. It does work and it makes my job go alot faster when I don't
have to type the entire sentences, you know. But what works on one line
doesn't work on the second line. What I do know is enter everything for

that
checklist onto one line and then I drag it to its proper place. It is time
consuming. Do you have ANY suggestions?



"Greg Maxey" wrote:

I don't AutoCorrect is what you are needing. It sounds like you need to

use
REF fields in all the place you what 'like' data repeated. See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same
information into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100
entries into auto correct, it will work on the first line but not on
the second, it will work on the third but not the fourth. so on and
so on. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Please help I am stuck
and it is hard to do the autocorrect in one line and drag everything
else. So back to my question how do apply this to my whole document?
Thanks






  #6  
Old March 6th 06, 04:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

Yes that is what I am saying. Tony Jollans suggessted that it is the language
but I just don't understand. I am very proficent in Word and this I just
don't understand. I would love to show you the formatt of my document, is
there any way I can do that?

"Greg Maxey" wrote:

So are you saying that you have created a bunch of autocorrect entries

e.g, Replace: 1.0 With: inspect paint damage

and they work in lines 1, 3, 5, etc. of your document put not in line 2, 4,
6 etc. ?

That is odd and I have to say I don't have an answer. I suppose Suzanne
Barnhill has about anything about Autocorrect that might help he
http://word.mvps.org/faqs/customization/AutoCorrect.htm but I don't think
the problem is AutoCorrect. Sounds document related somehow.

You might consider using AutoText

Type out: inspect paint damage and select it. Press ALT+F3 then name it
somthing like xx1.1 (it has to be four or more unique characters), then when
you type xx1.1 and the autocomplete tip displays, press enter.

Another possibility is to simply type your form using your codes and then go
back and run a macro that will replace all of the codes with the the correct
phrases. I have a macro that does this from a Find and Replace Word List
file.

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
Thank You Greg for responding
I work for inspectors to a refinery. The inspectors give me there
checklist with a code and here is an example: 1.1 may mean "paint
damage on plugs" &
1.0 may mean "inspect paint damage" I have alot of those. Not all my
documents are the same but I do use the same info. That is the reason
for the autocorrect. It does work and it makes my job go alot faster
when I don't have to type the entire sentences, you know. But what
works on one line doesn't work on the second line. What I do know is
enter everything for that checklist onto one line and then I drag it
to its proper place. It is time consuming. Do you have ANY
suggestions?



"Greg Maxey" wrote:

I don't AutoCorrect is what you are needing. It sounds like you
need to use REF fields in all the place you what 'like' data
repeated. See: http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same
information into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100
entries into auto correct, it will work on the first line but not on
the second, it will work on the third but not the fourth. so on and
so on. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Please help I am
stuck and it is hard to do the autocorrect in one line and drag
everything else. So back to my question how do apply this to my
whole document? Thanks




  #7  
Old March 6th 06, 04:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

Thank you for your response
I would love to show you my formatt is there anyway I can do that?

"Tony Jollans" wrote:

Plain-text Autocorrects are language dependent. Is it possible that
alternate lines in your document(s) have different languages set? Sounds a
bit far fetched, I know, but I'm not quite sure what your documents are like
and if they are preformatted maybe some apparently insignificant difference
got copied and pasted a lot.

--
Enjoy,
Tony


"AngieJ" wrote in message
...
Thank You Greg for responding
I work for inspectors to a refinery. The inspectors give me there

checklist
with a code and here is an example: 1.1 may mean "paint damage on plugs"

&
1.0 may mean "inspect paint damage" I have alot of those. Not all my
documents are the same but I do use the same info. That is the reason for

the
autocorrect. It does work and it makes my job go alot faster when I don't
have to type the entire sentences, you know. But what works on one line
doesn't work on the second line. What I do know is enter everything for

that
checklist onto one line and then I drag it to its proper place. It is time
consuming. Do you have ANY suggestions?



"Greg Maxey" wrote:

I don't AutoCorrect is what you are needing. It sounds like you need to

use
REF fields in all the place you what 'like' data repeated. See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--
Greg Maxey/Word MVP
See:
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/word_tips.htm
For some helpful tips using Word.


AngieJ wrote:
I have document with a lot of lines and I have to enter the same
information into each line. First thing I did was enter over 100
entries into auto correct, it will work on the first line but not on
the second, it will work on the third but not the fourth. so on and
so on. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Please help I am stuck
and it is hard to do the autocorrect in one line and drag everything
else. So back to my question how do apply this to my whole document?
Thanks






  #8  
Old March 6th 06, 04:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I apply AutoCorrect to my whole document?

Take out any macros and e-mail it to me.

For the language bit, put cursor in a line where the AutoText works and
press ToolsLanguageSet Language and note the language that is set

Now go to a line where is doesn't work and see if the set language is
the same. If not, select all of your text and set the language to the
language that worked.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When I apply bold to one word, it is applied to entire document Pippa K. Microsoft Word Help 2 February 20th 06 06:31 AM
How can I apply a template to an existing document? Maelle Page Layout 2 February 3rd 06 06:07 PM
Problems using document map kempofighter Microsoft Word Help 4 January 19th 06 04:33 PM
How to apply template w/picture-watermark to existng Document? RosieTheRiveter Microsoft Word Help 1 September 12th 05 11:06 PM
Fix Word 2003,so formatting does not apply to entire document. Paul Microsoft Word Help 2 September 11th 05 04:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2014 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.