Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default Using form text fields included in an IF Statement with autotext

Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I have a
dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls in an
autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields that I want
to fill out after I have selected a choice from the dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is no
problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not using an IF
field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve
  #2   Report Post  
Graham Mayor
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I have a
dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls in an
autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields that I want
to fill out after I have selected a choice from the dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is no
problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not using an IF
field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve



  #3   Report Post  
Steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Graham,

Do you know if there is a way not to use the drive and path of the
file name? I will be putting all files in one folder and then
shipping it off to another user.

I just don't want the user on their end to have to create the same
directory structure that I had on my machine when I created this.

I have Offce 2003.

Steve

"Graham Mayor" wrote in message ...
This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I have a
dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls in an
autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields that I want
to fill out after I have selected a choice from the dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is no
problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not using an IF
field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve


Thanks Graham
  #4   Report Post  
Graham Mayor
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you use the method to insert autotext entries rather than files then
provided you have saved the entries in the template you are supplying and
not in your own normal.dot then the file path is irrelevant. You did say you
wanted to use Autotext? (Change the INCLUDETEXT fields to AUTOTEXT fields -
and use unique names for the autotexts so they are not likely to conflict
with the users' own choices of autotext names.

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org





Steve wrote:
Thanks Graham,

Do you know if there is a way not to use the drive and path of the
file name? I will be putting all files in one folder and then
shipping it off to another user.

I just don't want the user on their end to have to create the same
directory structure that I had on my machine when I created this.

I have Offce 2003.

Steve

"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I
have a dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls
in an autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields that
I want to fill out after I have selected a choice from the dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is no
problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not using an
IF field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve


Thanks Graham



  #5   Report Post  
Steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm sorry, let me clarify. I have both INCLUDETEXT AND AUTOTEXT
FIELDS. I can't change the INCLUDETEXT to AUTOTEXT because they want
to update the subdocuments which will be linked to more than one
template. It's the INCLUDETEXT fields I am having a problem with. I
will be sending this template along with the linked subdocuments in
the same folder to another user.

What I want for the user to be able to do is :
* Take the folder I am sending to them with both the template and the
linked subdocuments.
* Copy it to whatever drive and directory they choose to put it in.
* Have all the INCLUDETEXT fields work without changing or adding the
path to the new location in every INCLUDETEXT field.

I suppose I could have used AUTOTEXT fields all through but I needed
to make it easier for the user to update the subdocs.

Thanks

Steve



"Graham Mayor" wrote in message ...
If you use the method to insert autotext entries rather than files then
provided you have saved the entries in the template you are supplying and
not in your own normal.dot then the file path is irrelevant. You did say you
wanted to use Autotext? (Change the INCLUDETEXT fields to AUTOTEXT fields -
and use unique names for the autotexts so they are not likely to conflict
with the users' own choices of autotext names.

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org





Steve wrote:
Thanks Graham,

Do you know if there is a way not to use the drive and path of the
file name? I will be putting all files in one folder and then
shipping it off to another user.

I just don't want the user on their end to have to create the same
directory structure that I had on my machine when I created this.

I have Offce 2003.

Steve

"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I
have a dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls
in an autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields that
I want to fill out after I have selected a choice from the dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is no
problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not using an
IF field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve


Thanks Graham



  #6   Report Post  
Graham Mayor
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was afraid of that

The only simple solution I can think of is to create a sub folder of the C
drive (as all users should have a C drive) and put the documents for
insertion in that. You can then use the same path for all. The other thing
that might work is to put the inserted documents in the same folder that the
document is to be saved to and then the path should not be necessary as Word
always looks in the current folder first (though I can foresee circumstances
where it might be). An autonew macro to force the new document to be saved
in that folder first should reinforce that option.


--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
I'm sorry, let me clarify. I have both INCLUDETEXT AND AUTOTEXT
FIELDS. I can't change the INCLUDETEXT to AUTOTEXT because they want
to update the subdocuments which will be linked to more than one
template. It's the INCLUDETEXT fields I am having a problem with. I
will be sending this template along with the linked subdocuments in
the same folder to another user.

What I want for the user to be able to do is :
* Take the folder I am sending to them with both the template and the
linked subdocuments.
* Copy it to whatever drive and directory they choose to put it in.
* Have all the INCLUDETEXT fields work without changing or adding the
path to the new location in every INCLUDETEXT field.

I suppose I could have used AUTOTEXT fields all through but I needed
to make it easier for the user to update the subdocs.

Thanks

Steve



"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
If you use the method to insert autotext entries rather than files
then provided you have saved the entries in the template you are
supplying and not in your own normal.dot then the file path is
irrelevant. You did say you wanted to use Autotext? (Change the
INCLUDETEXT fields to AUTOTEXT fields - and use unique names for the
autotexts so they are not likely to conflict with the users' own
choices of autotext names.

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org





Steve wrote:
Thanks Graham,

Do you know if there is a way not to use the drive and path of the
file name? I will be putting all files in one folder and then
shipping it off to another user.

I just don't want the user on their end to have to create the same
directory structure that I had on my machine when I created this.

I have Offce 2003.

Steve

"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I
have a dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls
in an autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields
that I want to fill out after I have selected a choice from the
dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is
no problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not
using an IF field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve

Thanks Graham



  #7   Report Post  
Steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Graham for all your help. I was thinking also I could have ans
ASK field at the top of the document to run when the document first
opens. This could have the user type in the path where they stored
their files. And have the results embedded in the INCLUDETEXT field
to replace my original path.

Steve




"Graham Mayor" wrote in message ...
I was afraid of that

The only simple solution I can think of is to create a sub folder of the C
drive (as all users should have a C drive) and put the documents for
insertion in that. You can then use the same path for all. The other thing
that might work is to put the inserted documents in the same folder that the
document is to be saved to and then the path should not be necessary as Word
always looks in the current folder first (though I can foresee circumstances
where it might be). An autonew macro to force the new document to be saved
in that folder first should reinforce that option.


--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
I'm sorry, let me clarify. I have both INCLUDETEXT AND AUTOTEXT
FIELDS. I can't change the INCLUDETEXT to AUTOTEXT because they want
to update the subdocuments which will be linked to more than one
template. It's the INCLUDETEXT fields I am having a problem with. I
will be sending this template along with the linked subdocuments in
the same folder to another user.

What I want for the user to be able to do is :
* Take the folder I am sending to them with both the template and the
linked subdocuments.
* Copy it to whatever drive and directory they choose to put it in.
* Have all the INCLUDETEXT fields work without changing or adding the
path to the new location in every INCLUDETEXT field.

I suppose I could have used AUTOTEXT fields all through but I needed
to make it easier for the user to update the subdocs.

Thanks

Steve



"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
If you use the method to insert autotext entries rather than files
then provided you have saved the entries in the template you are
supplying and not in your own normal.dot then the file path is
irrelevant. You did say you wanted to use Autotext? (Change the
INCLUDETEXT fields to AUTOTEXT fields - and use unique names for the
autotexts so they are not likely to conflict with the users' own
choices of autotext names.

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org





Steve wrote:
Thanks Graham,

Do you know if there is a way not to use the drive and path of the
file name? I will be putting all files in one folder and then
shipping it off to another user.

I just don't want the user on their end to have to create the same
directory structure that I had on my machine when I created this.

I have Offce 2003.

Steve

"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I
have a dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which pulls
in an autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form fields
that I want to fill out after I have selected a choice from the
dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there is
no problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not
using an IF field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve

Thanks Graham

  #8   Report Post  
Graham Mayor
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That might work if you can persuade users to get both the path and the
syntax (double slashes) right
You could then use {INCLUDETEXT "{REF Path}\\filename.doc"}
You could also investigate userforms run from an autonew macro that would
access file structure directly using vba, but this starts to add a whole new
level of complication

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Thanks Graham for all your help. I was thinking also I could have ans
ASK field at the top of the document to run when the document first
opens. This could have the user type in the path where they stored
their files. And have the results embedded in the INCLUDETEXT field
to replace my original path.

Steve




"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
I was afraid of that

The only simple solution I can think of is to create a sub folder of
the C drive (as all users should have a C drive) and put the
documents for insertion in that. You can then use the same path for
all. The other thing that might work is to put the inserted
documents in the same folder that the document is to be saved to and
then the path should not be necessary as Word always looks in the
current folder first (though I can foresee circumstances where it
might be). An autonew macro to force the new document to be saved in
that folder first should reinforce that option.


--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
I'm sorry, let me clarify. I have both INCLUDETEXT AND AUTOTEXT
FIELDS. I can't change the INCLUDETEXT to AUTOTEXT because they want
to update the subdocuments which will be linked to more than one
template. It's the INCLUDETEXT fields I am having a problem with. I
will be sending this template along with the linked subdocuments in
the same folder to another user.

What I want for the user to be able to do is :
* Take the folder I am sending to them with both the template and
the linked subdocuments.
* Copy it to whatever drive and directory they choose to put it in.
* Have all the INCLUDETEXT fields work without changing or adding
the path to the new location in every INCLUDETEXT field.

I suppose I could have used AUTOTEXT fields all through but I needed
to make it easier for the user to update the subdocs.

Thanks

Steve



"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
If you use the method to insert autotext entries rather than files
then provided you have saved the entries in the template you are
supplying and not in your own normal.dot then the file path is
irrelevant. You did say you wanted to use Autotext? (Change the
INCLUDETEXT fields to AUTOTEXT fields - and use unique names for
the autotexts so they are not likely to conflict with the users'
own choices of autotext names.

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org





Steve wrote:
Thanks Graham,

Do you know if there is a way not to use the drive and path of the
file name? I will be putting all files in one folder and then
shipping it off to another user.

I just don't want the user on their end to have to create the same
directory structure that I had on my machine when I created this.

I have Offce 2003.

Steve

"Graham Mayor" wrote in message
...
This looks like - http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




Steve wrote:
Hello,

I am having a lot of problems with a template I am creating. I
have a dropdown box "dropdown1" and I have an If field which
pulls in an autotext entry. This autotext entry also has form
fields that I want to fill out after I have selected a choice
from the dropdown.

Is this possible? It does not seem to be working for me. The
autotext entry comes in fine but it does not let me fill in the
formfields I have inserted. It dosen't even see them there.

If I bring in the autotext entry in manualy by typing it there
is no problem. I can see the form fields and they work. But not
using an IF field.

This is what I have.

Dropdown box = "dropdown1"
Autotext entries = Option1, and Option2 both contain form fields
within.

{If {REF "dropdown1"} = "Option1" {AUTOTEXT "Option1"}}{IF {REF
"dropdown1"} = "Option2" {AUTOTEXT "Option2"}}

Any help appreciated.

Steve

Thanks Graham



Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Form fields in frames - can I format the text (ie bold, italic)? La La Lara Microsoft Word Help 3 January 28th 05 03:09 PM
Email a protected document that contains Text Form Fields Dowza New Users 1 January 8th 05 10:31 AM
How do I autofill Text Form Fields from other Text form Fields in. Bmwdakar650 New Users 2 January 4th 05 02:10 PM
Outline Renee Hendershott Page Layout 2 December 25th 04 02:49 PM
Text Form Fields Bob G Tables 2 December 3rd 04 11:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:23 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"