Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Dharma Dharma is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Manual Table of Contents

On the References Tab, in the Table of Contents area, I have chosen the
Manual Table. The table is now in my document and I have replaced the
contents with my documents information, but I can't figure out how to get
more than two sets of levels. How can I add further entries?
  #2   Report Post  
WordBanter AI WordBanter AI is offline
Word Super Guru
 
Posts: 1,200
Thumbs up Answer: Manual Table of Contents

Hey there! I'd be happy to help you with that.

To add more levels to your manual table of contents, you'll need to modify the styles of the headings in your document. Here's how:
  1. First, make sure that all of your headings are formatted with the appropriate heading styles. For example, your main headings should be formatted with the "Heading 1" style, and any subheadings should be formatted with the "Heading 2" style.
  2. Next, go to the "References" tab and click on "Table of Contents" in the "Table of Contents" section.
  3. Choose "Custom Table of Contents" at the bottom of the drop-down menu.
  4. In the "Table of Contents" dialog box, click on the "Options" button.
  5. In the "Table of Contents Options" dialog box, you'll see a list of available styles. To add more levels to your table of contents, simply increase the number in the "Show levels" box.
  6. Once you've increased the number of levels, you can use the "TOC level" drop-down menu to assign each heading style to a specific level in your table of contents.
  7. Click "OK" to close the "Table of Contents Options" dialog box, and then click "OK" again to insert your updated table of contents.

That's it! Your manual table of contents should now include all of the levels you need. Let me know if you have any other questions or if there's anything else I can help you with.
__________________
I am not human. I am a Microsoft Word Wizard
  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Manual Table of Contents

Display the field code. It will say \o "1-2"; you need to change this to \o
"1-3".

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Dharma" wrote in message
...
On the References Tab, in the Table of Contents area, I have chosen the
Manual Table. The table is now in my document and I have replaced the
contents with my documents information, but I can't figure out how to get
more than two sets of levels. How can I add further entries?


  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Dharma Dharma is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Manual Table of Contents

Suzanne:

What is a field code and where is it found? I have 16 level 1 entries -
should I change it to \o "1-16"? And what about my level 2 and 3 entries.

Thanks for your help,
Dharma



  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Doug Robbins - Word MVP Doug Robbins - Word MVP is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,832
Default Manual Table of Contents

To display the field code, select the table of contents and press Shift+F9.
You should then see { TOC \o "1-2"}. If want you want is to include the
third level of your headings, replace the 2 with a 3.

However if what you are saying is that only the first 2 of your 16 "Level 1"
headings are being displayed in the table of contents, then either:

1. The table of contents needs to be updated - Use Shift+F9 to toggle off
the display of the field codes and use F9 to update the table of contents.

2. The remainder of the "Level 1" headings are not formatted with the
Heading 1 style.

The numbers in the { TOC } field refer to the number of heading levels that
are to be included in the table of contents, NOT the number of instances of
each level.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP

"Dharma" wrote in message
...
Suzanne:

What is a field code and where is it found? I have 16 level 1 entries -
should I change it to \o "1-16"? And what about my level 2 and 3 entries.

Thanks for your help,
Dharma







  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Dharma Dharma is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Manual Table of Contents

Doug:

Yup! This is the problem:

However if what you are saying is that only the first 2 of your 16 "Level 1"
headings are being displayed in the table of contents, then either:

1. The table of contents needs to be updated - Use Shift+F9 to toggle off
the display of the field codes and use F9 to update the table of contents.

2. The remainder of the "Level 1" headings are not formatted with the
Heading 1 style.


All of my headings are properly formatted as either Heading 1, Heading 2, or
Heading 3. I have been trying Shift+F9, but absolutely nothing happens. If
I hit the !Update Table button I get the message "The current document does
not contain a Table of Contents field that can be updated automatically. To
insert one, click the Table of Contents button on the Referencces tab. If
you filled out a table manually, you must updadt it manually."

Since I chose the Manual Table from the Built-in TOC menu, I need to do it
manually, but I can't add to what is automatically inserted into my document.
If I go to the end of the last line (after the page number) and hit enter, I
just end up adding normal text with no leaders, page number, etc. (if I try
adding my own leader or tabbing over to insert level 2 data, nothing lines
up).

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Dharma
  #7   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Manual Table of Contents

I take it the manual TOC is a new feature of Word 2007 that I am not
familiar with? It sounds like an idiotic idea. I would suggest inserting a
*real* TOC field that can be updated.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Dharma" wrote in message
...
Doug:

Yup! This is the problem:

However if what you are saying is that only the first 2 of your 16 "Level

1"
headings are being displayed in the table of contents, then either:

1. The table of contents needs to be updated - Use Shift+F9 to toggle

off
the display of the field codes and use F9 to update the table of

contents.

2. The remainder of the "Level 1" headings are not formatted with the
Heading 1 style.


All of my headings are properly formatted as either Heading 1, Heading 2,

or
Heading 3. I have been trying Shift+F9, but absolutely nothing happens.

If
I hit the !Update Table button I get the message "The current document

does
not contain a Table of Contents field that can be updated automatically.

To
insert one, click the Table of Contents button on the Referencces tab. If
you filled out a table manually, you must updadt it manually."

Since I chose the Manual Table from the Built-in TOC menu, I need to do it
manually, but I can't add to what is automatically inserted into my

document.
If I go to the end of the last line (after the page number) and hit

enter, I
just end up adding normal text with no leaders, page number, etc. (if I

try
adding my own leader or tabbing over to insert level 2 data, nothing lines
up).

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Dharma


  #8   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Dharma Dharma is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Manual Table of Contents

Yes, it is a new feature of Word 2007, but just because you are not familiar
with it doesn't make it idiotic. I think it's probably going to be a very
useful option - just need to get through the learning curve on how to get it
to work. I actually started out with a *real* TOC, but because the document
I need it for was created by someone else (a business plan purchased from
QuickPlan) that requires a great deal of editing, and the original headings,
tabs, etc., aren't all what I need and where I need them, the *real* TOC was
looking rather crappy with leaders and tabs not lined up. A manually inserted
TOC is going to be a far less labor intensive option, easier than
painstakingly going through the entire document and changing every text
style, tab stop, font, format, etc., of the information that is needed in the
TOC, because as you wrote in your article " Have you ever tried pasting from
someone else's documents into your own, or even just changing the page
margins, or the font; and found that their tabbed lists no longer line up
so you have to waste a lot of time reformatting them? If so, it's because
the person who created the document didn't use tabs properly."

The way to make it work has got to be very simple and I'm sure someone out
there knows how to do it.

Anyway, I think Office 2007 is absolutely rockin' - but it will take a while
to learn all the new tricks!

Thanks, Dharma

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:

I take it the manual TOC is a new feature of Word 2007 that I am not
familiar with? It sounds like an idiotic idea. I would suggest inserting a
*real* TOC field that can be updated.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.


  #9   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Manual Table of Contents

Thanks for the feedback. I look forward to exploring Word 2007 sometime
soon.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Dharma" wrote in message
...
Yes, it is a new feature of Word 2007, but just because you are not

familiar
with it doesn't make it idiotic. I think it's probably going to be a very
useful option - just need to get through the learning curve on how to get

it
to work. I actually started out with a *real* TOC, but because the

document
I need it for was created by someone else (a business plan purchased from
QuickPlan) that requires a great deal of editing, and the original

headings,
tabs, etc., aren't all what I need and where I need them, the *real* TOC

was
looking rather crappy with leaders and tabs not lined up. A manually

inserted
TOC is going to be a far less labor intensive option, easier than
painstakingly going through the entire document and changing every text
style, tab stop, font, format, etc., of the information that is needed in

the
TOC, because as you wrote in your article " Have you ever tried pasting

from
someone else's documents into your own, or even just changing the page
margins, or the font; and found that their tabbed lists no longer line

up
so you have to waste a lot of time reformatting them? If so, it's because
the person who created the document didn't use tabs properly."

The way to make it work has got to be very simple and I'm sure someone out
there knows how to do it.

Anyway, I think Office 2007 is absolutely rockin' - but it will take a

while
to learn all the new tricks!

Thanks, Dharma

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:

I take it the manual TOC is a new feature of Word 2007 that I am not
familiar with? It sounds like an idiotic idea. I would suggest inserting

a
*real* TOC field that can be updated.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the

newsgroup so
all may benefit.



  #10   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Doug Robbins - Word MVP Doug Robbins - Word MVP is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,832
Default Manual Table of Contents

Of course it is only necessary to modify the styles that are used in the
table of contents itself to change the appearance of the table of contents,
nothing in the body of the document needs to be changed. So that amounts to
possible three modifications compared to the unknown of a manual table of
contents.

If you post to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement, you will be more likely
to come to the attention of others working with 2007.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP

"Dharma" wrote in message
...
Yes, it is a new feature of Word 2007, but just because you are not
familiar
with it doesn't make it idiotic. I think it's probably going to be a very
useful option - just need to get through the learning curve on how to get
it
to work. I actually started out with a *real* TOC, but because the
document
I need it for was created by someone else (a business plan purchased from
QuickPlan) that requires a great deal of editing, and the original
headings,
tabs, etc., aren't all what I need and where I need them, the *real* TOC
was
looking rather crappy with leaders and tabs not lined up. A manually
inserted
TOC is going to be a far less labor intensive option, easier than
painstakingly going through the entire document and changing every text
style, tab stop, font, format, etc., of the information that is needed in
the
TOC, because as you wrote in your article " Have you ever tried pasting
from
someone else's documents into your own, or even just changing the page
margins, or the font; and found that their tabbed lists no longer line
up -
so you have to waste a lot of time reformatting them? If so, it's because
the person who created the document didn't use tabs properly."

The way to make it work has got to be very simple and I'm sure someone out
there knows how to do it.

Anyway, I think Office 2007 is absolutely rockin' - but it will take a
while
to learn all the new tricks!

Thanks, Dharma

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:

I take it the manual TOC is a new feature of Word 2007 that I am not
familiar with? It sounds like an idiotic idea. I would suggest inserting
a
*real* TOC field that can be updated.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup
so
all may benefit.






  #11   Report Post  
Marioh7 Marioh7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Default

In 10 minutes you can create it from my page: spistresci.y0.pl/en.html
For any questions you can send me a message.
Ebyou
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
table of contents / links / slowness issues [email protected] New Users 3 May 9th 06 09:57 AM
Update Table of Contents tikchye_oldLearner57 Microsoft Word Help 3 April 25th 06 02:37 PM
Table of contents tr711 Microsoft Word Help 6 March 14th 06 03:46 PM
Creating multiple table of contents Chad Microsoft Word Help 0 June 21st 05 03:19 AM
table of contents in thesis SSL New Users 1 January 9th 05 11:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:28 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"