Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Dawn Reid Dawn Reid is offline
Junior Member
 
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to Dawn Reid
Question Reference Fields Are Not Auto Populatinng

I created a user form out of a 21 page document. The "reference fields" that link to the form fields are in the header, since Word does not like form fields to be directly in the header. Users will enter the data on the first page of the form and the reference fields "should" automatically update. However, after I enter the test data, the ref fields do not automatically populate. I have to open the Header/Footer, select the ref fields, then select F9. This will not be productive for the end user.

I tried to "record a macro" that would automatically select and update the fields. But, Word doesn't like that too much. My other alternative is to remove the reference fields out of the header and put them in the main document, however, instead of having 2-3 headers to update in the appropriate sections, I now have to have this header (table with fields) on each page. However, before I do that, I wanted to know if anyone had any other ideas? How can I create a macro, code or "user-friendly" process where the ref fields will automaticlally update in the header, or at least make it easier to update those fields since I can't seem to record a macro to do it for me? Thoughts???
  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Reference Fields Are Not Auto Populatinng

To repeat data from a field in the header (or footer), make use of a
STYLEREF field instead. See http://wordfaqs.mvps.org/StyleRef.htm#FormField.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




"Dawn Reid" wrote in message
news

I created a user form out of a 21 page document. The "reference fields"
that link to the form fields are in the header, since Word does not like
form fields to be directly in the header. Users will enter the data on
the first page of the form and the reference fields "should"
automatically update. However, after I enter the test data, the ref
fields do not automatically populate. I have to open the Header/Footer,
select the ref fields, then select F9. This will not be productive for
the end user.

I tried to "record a macro" that would automatically select and update
the fields. But, Word doesn't like that too much. My other
alternative is to remove the reference fields out of the header and put
them in the main document, however, instead of having 2-3 headers to
update in the appropriate sections, I now have to have this header
(table with fields) on each page. However, before I do that, I wanted
to know if anyone had any other ideas? How can I create a macro, code
or "user-friendly" process where the ref fields will automaticlally
update in the header, or at least make it easier to update those fields
since I can't seem to record a macro to do it for me? Thoughts???




--
Dawn Reid


  #3   Report Post  
Dawn Reid Dawn Reid is offline
Junior Member
 
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to Dawn Reid
Thumbs up

Thank you so much Stefan...very helpful. I will put this to use in my form.

D.

  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.formatting.longdocs
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Reference Fields Are Not Auto Populatinng

I'm glad I could help.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




"Dawn Reid" wrote in message
news

Thank you so much Stefan...very helpful. I will put this to use in my
form.

D.

'Stefan Blom[_3_ Wrote:
;495548']To repeat data from a field in the header (or footer), make use
of a
STYLEREF field instead. See
http://wordfaqs.mvps.org/StyleRef.htm#FormField.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




"Dawn Reid" wrote in message
news
I created a user form out of a 21 page document. The "reference
fields"
that link to the form fields are in the header, since Word does not
like
form fields to be directly in the header. Users will enter the data
on
the first page of the form and the reference fields "should"
automatically update. However, after I enter the test data, the ref
fields do not automatically populate. I have to open the
Header/Footer,
select the ref fields, then select F9. This will not be productive for
the end user.

I tried to "record a macro" that would automatically select and update
the fields. But, Word doesn't like that too much. My other
alternative is to remove the reference fields out of the header and
put
them in the main document, however, instead of having 2-3 headers to
update in the appropriate sections, I now have to have this header
(table with fields) on each page. However, before I do that, I wanted
to know if anyone had any other ideas? How can I create a macro, code
or "user-friendly" process where the ref fields will automaticlally
update in the header, or at least make it easier to update those
fields
since I can't seem to record a macro to do it for me? Thoughts???




--
Dawn Reid -





--
Dawn Reid


  #5   Report Post  
willardfm58 willardfm58 is offline
Banned
 
Posts: 7
Default

Here are some things that I know about this internet. As we know that their whole setup is in the air, itís not possible that the users get the same speed of the internet as mentioned. Click here to check your internet ptcl speed test here. There will be more chances of error due to changes in weather conditions. If you are the one using their internet, and facing any kind of internet problem, then itís probably because of the reason that you are not getting the actual speed of the internet. You can use this tool to accurately measure the ping rate, download, and upload speeds of the internet.


  #6   Report Post  
Hazoma Hazoma is offline
Banned
 
Posts: 3
Default

I really liked this essay and the way you presented it.
  #7   Report Post  
Minachi Minachi is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Default

Your design is quite attractive. However, try playing some relaxing games like moto x3m to help you relax.
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i cant get my cross reference to auto update Ms.Documentation Microsoft Word Help 3 August 22nd 08 02:45 PM
Creating reference fields and pulling the reference from Excel Bob Hayes Microsoft Word Help 0 September 19th 07 02:12 PM
Auto fill Form Fields from previous Variable fields? OmaScott Microsoft Word Help 3 July 19th 06 09:09 PM
HOW TO ADD AN AUTO NUMBERING REFERENCE alqassimi Microsoft Word Help 2 June 20th 06 11:01 AM
auto-extract fields from word - auto-paste into excel at next row swooop Microsoft Word Help 1 February 25th 06 03:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"