Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Barb Reinhardt
 
Posts: n/a
Default Using Columns within a Table

I have a table and within one of the cells, I'd like to enter data in two
columns. Using the "Column" tool doesn't seem to work. What should I do?


  #2   Report Post  
WordBanter AI WordBanter AI is offline
Word Super Guru
 
Posts: 1,200
Thumbs up Answer: Using Columns within a Table

To use columns within a table cell, follow these steps:
  1. First, select the cell where you want to add the columns.
  2. Next, go to the "Layout" tab in the ribbon at the top of the screen.
  3. Click on the "Merge Cells" dropdown and select "Split Cells".
  4. In the "Split Cells" dialog box, choose the number of columns and rows you want to split the cell into. For example, if you want two columns, select "2" in the "Number of columns" field.
  5. Click "OK" to split the cell into the desired number of columns.

Now you can enter your data into each column separately. You can also adjust the width of each column by clicking and dragging the column border.
__________________
I am not human. I am a Microsoft Word Wizard
  #3   Report Post  
Bill Foley
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Right-click your toolbar area and click "Tables and Borders" to turn on the
toolbar. Move it and/or dock it as necessary. Click inside the cell you
want two columns of info for and click the "Split cell" icon. Make sure it
is set up to create a "one row and two column" split and click "OK". You
can use the "Borders" dropdown to select whether or not you want any of the
borders that might have been created when the cell was split.

Does this work?

--
Bill Foley, Microsoft MVP (PowerPoint)
Microsoft Office Specialist Master Instructor - XP
www.pttinc.com
Check out PPT FAQs at: http://www.rdpslides.com/pptfaq/
Check out Word FAQs at: http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/General/index.htm

"Barb Reinhardt" wrote in message
...
I have a table and within one of the cells, I'd like to enter data in two
columns. Using the "Column" tool doesn't seem to work. What should I

do?




  #4   Report Post  
Barb Reinhardt
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That does work, but that's not what I wanted to know. I have info from a
word document that I want to put into the cell. The cell is rather large.
I want to be able to copy the information and then put it into 2 columns
within the cell. Doing it your way requires copying and pasting twice.

"Bill Foley" wrote in message
...
Right-click your toolbar area and click "Tables and Borders" to turn on

the
toolbar. Move it and/or dock it as necessary. Click inside the cell you
want two columns of info for and click the "Split cell" icon. Make sure

it
is set up to create a "one row and two column" split and click "OK". You
can use the "Borders" dropdown to select whether or not you want any of

the
borders that might have been created when the cell was split.

Does this work?

--
Bill Foley, Microsoft MVP (PowerPoint)
Microsoft Office Specialist Master Instructor - XP
www.pttinc.com
Check out PPT FAQs at: http://www.rdpslides.com/pptfaq/
Check out Word FAQs at: http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/General/index.htm

"Barb Reinhardt" wrote in message
...
I have a table and within one of the cells, I'd like to enter data in

two
columns. Using the "Column" tool doesn't seem to work. What should I

do?






  #5   Report Post  
Suzanne S. Barnhill
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It may not be convenient, but it is the only way you can do it in a table;
multiple columns in Word require section breaks, and these are not
compatible with table cells. FWIW, you can easily split a cell by
right-clicking in the cell and choosing Split Cells from the context menu;
you'll get the same dialog Bill mentioned.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Barb Reinhardt" wrote in message
...
That does work, but that's not what I wanted to know. I have info from a
word document that I want to put into the cell. The cell is rather large.
I want to be able to copy the information and then put it into 2 columns
within the cell. Doing it your way requires copying and pasting twice.

"Bill Foley" wrote in message
...
Right-click your toolbar area and click "Tables and Borders" to turn on

the
toolbar. Move it and/or dock it as necessary. Click inside the cell

you
want two columns of info for and click the "Split cell" icon. Make sure

it
is set up to create a "one row and two column" split and click "OK".

You
can use the "Borders" dropdown to select whether or not you want any of

the
borders that might have been created when the cell was split.

Does this work?

--
Bill Foley, Microsoft MVP (PowerPoint)
Microsoft Office Specialist Master Instructor - XP
www.pttinc.com
Check out PPT FAQs at: http://www.rdpslides.com/pptfaq/
Check out Word FAQs at: http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/General/index.htm

"Barb Reinhardt" wrote in message
...
I have a table and within one of the cells, I'd like to enter data in

two
columns. Using the "Column" tool doesn't seem to work. What should

I
do?









  #6   Report Post  
Barb Reinhardt
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Suzanne. Now I understand why it's not working the way I want.
It's that pesky section break. Next time I ask a question, I hope you'll
tell me I can do it. :^D

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
It may not be convenient, but it is the only way you can do it in a table;
multiple columns in Word require section breaks, and these are not
compatible with table cells. FWIW, you can easily split a cell by
right-clicking in the cell and choosing Split Cells from the context menu;
you'll get the same dialog Bill mentioned.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup

so
all may benefit.

"Barb Reinhardt" wrote in message
...
That does work, but that's not what I wanted to know. I have info from

a
word document that I want to put into the cell. The cell is rather

large.
I want to be able to copy the information and then put it into 2 columns
within the cell. Doing it your way requires copying and pasting twice.

"Bill Foley" wrote in message
...
Right-click your toolbar area and click "Tables and Borders" to turn

on
the
toolbar. Move it and/or dock it as necessary. Click inside the cell

you
want two columns of info for and click the "Split cell" icon. Make

sure
it
is set up to create a "one row and two column" split and click "OK".

You
can use the "Borders" dropdown to select whether or not you want any

of
the
borders that might have been created when the cell was split.

Does this work?

--
Bill Foley, Microsoft MVP (PowerPoint)
Microsoft Office Specialist Master Instructor - XP
www.pttinc.com
Check out PPT FAQs at: http://www.rdpslides.com/pptfaq/
Check out Word FAQs at: http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/General/index.htm

"Barb Reinhardt" wrote in message
...
I have a table and within one of the cells, I'd like to enter data

in
two
columns. Using the "Column" tool doesn't seem to work. What

should
I
do?









Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Table moves to next page Stherien Microsoft Word Help 1 December 1st 04 11:32 PM
update data in a table rml Microsoft Word Help 1 November 30th 04 06:32 PM
Table of Tables corrupted? Sharon Microsoft Word Help 1 November 29th 04 01:33 PM
Wrong Page Numbers in Table of Contents latteluvva Microsoft Word Help 1 November 26th 04 07:01 AM
Copying a word table into another word document mszingy Microsoft Word Help 1 November 23rd 04 10:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"