Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
KWSmith KWSmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Default Field Toggle Default

How do I set up Word 2010 to open with the fields populated without having to press Alt F9 everytime once the document is open?

Thanks.
  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.pagelayout
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Field Toggle Default

Try this first: Make sure that only one document is open in Word. Press Alt+F9
to hide the field codes. Exit Word, so that the setting is written to the
registry. This should make it "stick."

If that doesn't work, exit Word and delete the Data key in the registry. Note
that this will reset many Word options to their defaults, and you'll have to
change them manually after you have restarted Word.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




"KWSmith" wrote in message ...

How do I set up Word 2010 to open with the fields populated without
having to press Alt F9 everytime once the document is open?

Thanks.





--
KWSmith

  #3   Report Post  
KWSmith KWSmith is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Default

Hi Stefan,

Thank you for your response. How do I "delete the Data key in the registry"? Thanks!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Blom[_3_] View Post
Try this first: Make sure that only one document is open in Word. Press Alt+F9
to hide the field codes. Exit Word, so that the setting is written to the
registry. This should make it "stick."

If that doesn't work, exit Word and delete the Data key in the registry. Note
that this will reset many Word options to their defaults, and you'll have to
change them manually after you have restarted Word.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP





"KWSmith" wrote in message ...

How do I set up Word 2010 to open with the fields populated without
having to press Alt F9 everytime once the document is open?

Thanks.





--
KWSmith
  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.pagelayout
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Field Toggle Default

Start the registry editor as follows: Hold the Windows logo key as you
press R; in the Run dialog box, type regedit and press Enter.

Locate HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\W ord\Options and
delete the Options key (represented by a little "folder").

Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP




On 2012-10-12 03:41, KWSmith wrote:
Hi Stefan,

Thank you for your response. How do I "delete the Data key in the
registry"? Thanks!!


'Stefan Blom[_3_ Wrote:
;493390']Try this first: Make sure that only one document is open in
Word. Press Alt+F9
to hide the field codes. Exit Word, so that the setting is written to
the
registry. This should make it "stick."

If that doesn't work, exit Word and delete the Data key in the registry.
Note
that this will reset many Word options to their defaults, and you'll
have to
change them manually after you have restarted Word.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP





"KWSmith" wrote in message ...
-
How do I set up Word 2010 to open with the fields populated without
having to press Alt F9 everytime once the document is open?

Thanks.-




--
KWSmith





Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is toggle field codes Emad kabaha Tables 1 March 16th 09 12:41 AM
toggle field codes Ali Microsoft Word Help 2 February 26th 08 06:46 AM
How do I toggle off the field codes ? judymt Microsoft Word Help 3 November 6th 07 08:51 PM
How do I set default on Toggle Field Codes? BoulderRon Microsoft Word Help 1 March 7th 05 04:25 PM
Toggle field codes. Frank Martin New Users 2 February 17th 05 03:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"