Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
silentpro silentpro is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Auto Update Formulas

Ok... I think I got the formulas to calculate a table in word '07, but now I
have to right click & update the cells that "total" my calculations.

How can I make the cells auto calculate once a change is made in another
cell?

Example:

B2:B36, has a drop down of 1 or 0. B37 will show the total of "1's". But
I have to r click on B37 & select Update to show the new value....

Plz help.....



  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod[_2_] macropod[_2_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,059
Default Auto Update Formulas

Hi silentpro,

Simply set each of your Dropdown formfields' properties to 'calculate on exit'.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message ...
Ok... I think I got the formulas to calculate a table in word '07, but now I
have to right click & update the cells that "total" my calculations.

How can I make the cells auto calculate once a change is made in another
cell?

Example:

B2:B36, has a drop down of 1 or 0. B37 will show the total of "1's". But
I have to r click on B37 & select Update to show the new value....

Plz help.....



  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
silentpro silentpro is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Auto Update Formulas

I have that set & they still don't auto calculate the totals.....??....

Anything else I need to check?



"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi silentpro,

Simply set each of your Dropdown formfields' properties to 'calculate on
exit'.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message
...
Ok... I think I got the formulas to calculate a table in word '07, but
now I have to right click & update the cells that "total" my
calculations.

How can I make the cells auto calculate once a change is made in another
cell?

Example:

B2:B36, has a drop down of 1 or 0. B37 will show the total of "1's".
But I have to r click on B37 & select Update to show the new value....

Plz help.....



  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod[_2_] macropod[_2_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,059
Default Auto Update Formulas

Hi silentpro,

Are you sure your formula has the correct range references?

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message ...
I have that set & they still don't auto calculate the totals.....??....

Anything else I need to check?



"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi silentpro,

Simply set each of your Dropdown formfields' properties to 'calculate on
exit'.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message
...
Ok... I think I got the formulas to calculate a table in word '07, but
now I have to right click & update the cells that "total" my
calculations.

How can I make the cells auto calculate once a change is made in another
cell?

Example:

B2:B36, has a drop down of 1 or 0. B37 will show the total of "1's".
But I have to r click on B37 & select Update to show the new value....

Plz help.....



  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
silentpro silentpro is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Auto Update Formulas

Yes I am, & I even double checked it just to make sure I was answering
truthfully.

Is there possibly an option I have turned off?


"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi silentpro,

Are you sure your formula has the correct range references?

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message
...
I have that set & they still don't auto calculate the totals.....??....

Anything else I need to check?



"macropod" wrote in message
...
Hi silentpro,

Simply set each of your Dropdown formfields' properties to 'calculate on
exit'.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message
...
Ok... I think I got the formulas to calculate a table in word '07, but
now I have to right click & update the cells that "total" my
calculations.

How can I make the cells auto calculate once a change is made in
another cell?

Example:

B2:B36, has a drop down of 1 or 0. B37 will show the total of "1's".
But I have to r click on B37 & select Update to show the new value....

Plz help.....





  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod[_2_] macropod[_2_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,059
Default Auto Update Formulas

Hi silentpro,

I'm sorry, but it seems I've gave you a bit of mis-direction in the other thread - you can't use {=SUM(C2:C36)}
Instead, you'll need to use:
{={REF Dropdown1}+{REF Dropdown2}... +{REF Dropdown34}+{REF Dropdown35}}
where Dropdown1 ... Dropdown35 are the Dropdown field bookmark names.

Note: The field brace pairs (ie '{ }') for the above example are created via Ctrl-F9 - you can't simply type them or copy & paste
them from this message.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message ...
Yes I am, & I even double checked it just to make sure I was answering truthfully.

Is there possibly an option I have turned off?


"macropod" wrote in message ...
Hi silentpro,

Are you sure your formula has the correct range references?

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message ...
I have that set & they still don't auto calculate the totals.....??....

Anything else I need to check?



"macropod" wrote in message ...
Hi silentpro,

Simply set each of your Dropdown formfields' properties to 'calculate on exit'.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"silentpro" wrote in message ...
Ok... I think I got the formulas to calculate a table in word '07, but now I have to right click & update the cells that
"total" my calculations.

How can I make the cells auto calculate once a change is made in another cell?

Example:

B2:B36, has a drop down of 1 or 0. B37 will show the total of "1's". But I have to r click on B37 & select Update to show the
new value....

Plz help.....




Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto update welshygunner Microsoft Word Help 3 September 20th 09 12:53 PM
Update auto checked but date and time do not update when I reopen mgray Microsoft Word Help 1 February 2nd 07 03:46 AM
Auto-Update Dave New Users 1 October 29th 06 05:02 PM
Auto update welshygunner Microsoft Word Help 1 January 6th 06 01:25 PM
Word should auto update Formulas in the same way Excel does SmokeyMcPotHead Microsoft Word Help 3 February 26th 05 03:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:09 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"