Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
janey janey is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Autotext in Windows 7

I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it shows
all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and addition. I
can't find how to have just my template's entries showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the names of
the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find what I am
looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?

  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Autotext in Windows 7

As far as I know, there is no way to accomplish what you want. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"janey" wrote in message
...
I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it
shows all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and
addition. I can't find how to have just my template's entries showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the names
of the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find what I
am looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?



  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Autotext in Windows 7

"janey" might want to have a look at
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Word2007_B...&_AutoText.htm

Note that one should not be daunted by the complexity of the solution
presented, as the Building Block Enhanced Tools are provided in an add-in
available for download from Greg's site.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
As far as I know, there is no way to accomplish what you want. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"janey" wrote in message
...
I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it
shows all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and
addition. I can't find how to have just my template's entries showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the names
of the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find what
I am looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?





  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Autotext in Windows 7

Another one of those useful articles that I keep forgetting about. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
"janey" might want to have a look at
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Word2007_B...&_AutoText.htm

Note that one should not be daunted by the complexity of the solution
presented, as the Building Block Enhanced Tools are provided in an add-in
available for download from Greg's site.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
As far as I know, there is no way to accomplish what you want. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"janey" wrote in message
...
I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it
shows all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and
addition. I can't find how to have just my template's entries showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the names
of the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find what
I am looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?







  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Autotext in Windows 7

Yes, I just now got around to adding it to my cheat sheet, after I had to go
looking for it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
Another one of those useful articles that I keep forgetting about. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
"janey" might want to have a look at
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Word2007_B...&_AutoText.htm

Note that one should not be daunted by the complexity of the solution
presented, as the Building Block Enhanced Tools are provided in an add-in
available for download from Greg's site.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
As far as I know, there is no way to accomplish what you want. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"janey" wrote in message
...
I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it
shows all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and
addition. I can't find how to have just my template's entries showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the
names
of the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find
what
I am looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?









  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Stefan Blom[_3_] Stefan Blom[_3_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,897
Default Autotext in Windows 7

I guess I will have to make myself a "cheat sheet" sooner or later. :-)

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
Yes, I just now got around to adding it to my cheat sheet, after I had to
go looking for it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
Another one of those useful articles that I keep forgetting about. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
"janey" might want to have a look at
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Word2007_B...&_AutoText.htm

Note that one should not be daunted by the complexity of the solution
presented, as the Building Block Enhanced Tools are provided in an
add-in available for download from Greg's site.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
As far as I know, there is no way to accomplish what you want. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"janey" wrote in message
...
I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a
Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it
shows all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and
addition. I can't find how to have just my template's entries showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the
names
of the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find
what
I am looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?









  #7   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Autotext in Windows 7

Mine is 24 pages long and is on my Work menu. It has links categorized
roughly by NG categories (Most Frequently Asked, Other Application Errors,
Basics, Customization and Backup, Printing and Fonts, Page Layout, Long
Documents, Mail Merge, Tables, Forms, Numbering and Dates, Graphics,
Spelling and Correction, WordPerfect Migration, Corruption/Master Docs,
Useful Stuff, and Links). When I have to search manually for less-often-used
links, I can scroll through, looking at the subheads in the scroll bar
popup, but for most of the links I have three- or four-letter shortcuts that
I use in the Find dialog, such as:

inen = http://www.shaunakelly.com/word/numb...Numbering.html
zeno = http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/Customizat...alTemplate.htm
atoc = http://www.ShaunaKelly.com/word/toc/CreateATOC.html
atof = http://www.shaunakelly.com/word/styl...xtChanges.html
bleb = http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/TableBasics.htm
leon = http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFm...bleOn1Page.htm
robu = http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFm...acroButton.htm
thse = http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/Formatting...thSections.htm

and so on. I also have signatures in OE for some of the most commonly
referenced links, such as
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/AppErrors/...ocNotBlank.htm and
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/AppErrors/MissingMenusEtc.htm

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
I guess I will have to make myself a "cheat sheet" sooner or later. :-)

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
Yes, I just now got around to adding it to my cheat sheet, after I had to
go looking for it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
Another one of those useful articles that I keep forgetting about. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
"janey" might want to have a look at
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Word2007_B...&_AutoText.htm

Note that one should not be daunted by the complexity of the solution
presented, as the Building Block Enhanced Tools are provided in an
add-in available for download from Greg's site.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"Stefan Blom" wrote in message
...
As far as I know, there is no way to accomplish what you want. :-(

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP



"janey" wrote in message
...
I have attached a template which I brought over from Word 2003 to a
Word
2009.

1. I have put Autotext on my QAT but when I have a look at it, it
shows all templates, rather than the one I need for insertion and
addition. I can't find how to have just my template's entries
showing.

2. I don't get a list of entries as in 2003 but boxes with the
names
of the autotext in them; this makes it slow to scroll down and find
what
I am looking for.

Any way around these problem, please?











Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autotext from Word 2007 to Windows Mail under Vista Ed Bacon Microsoft Word Help 4 June 18th 07 12:20 PM
autotext in Windows vista Gloria Drayer Microsoft Word Help 1 May 22nd 07 03:53 AM
The latest Windows has changed my AutoText access. Any Help? peeps Microsoft Word Help 1 December 18th 06 10:40 AM
How do I open Windows 2007 Beta Word files in Windows XP? Rex Microsoft Word Help 2 September 5th 06 03:13 PM
Windows 2003 & AutoText problems Elle Microsoft Word Help 2 September 22nd 05 03:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"