Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
[email protected] wolf_tracks@invalid.com is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 47
Default Duplicating a Table

I have a simple table filled with data. I would like to duplicate (#
rows & columns, and the width of columns) the table w/o the data. Word
2007. How is that done?

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet



Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/

  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Duplicating a Table

Copy/paste the table. Make sure it is not set to automatically resize to fit
contents. Then delete the contents. This should preserve the number of rows
and columns and the widths of the columns. It will *not* preserve the row
height. If you need to do that (for printing only, to create a blank form),
you can instead change the font color to white). Otherwise you'll have to
manually adjust the row height for each row, which is easier said than done.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

wrote in message
...
I have a simple table filled with data. I would like to duplicate (# rows &
columns, and the width of columns) the table w/o the data. Word 2007. How
is that done?

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet



Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/



  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
[email protected] wolf_tracks@invalid.com is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 47
Default Duplicating a Table

On 4/6/2010 9:05 PM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
Copy/paste the table. Make sure it is not set to automatically resize to
fit
contents. Then delete the contents. This should preserve the number of
rows and columns and the widths of the columns. It will *not* preserve
the row height. If you need to do that (for printing only, to create a
blank form), you can instead change the font color to white). Otherwise
you'll have to manually adjust the row height for each row, which is
easier said than done.

Ah, the key here is copy using the corner cross and not sweep the entire
table for a copy. It carried the contents, but that's easy to delete.
The next question, for interest only, is how to I merge the two tables?

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet

Solid waste produced to generate electricity per person
over a lifetime:
Nuclear power -- 2 pounds in a coke can
Fossil (coal) fuel -- 68.5 tons in six 12-ton RR cars

-- Power to Save the World, Gwyneth Cravens

Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/

  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Terry Farrell Terry Farrell is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,904
Default Duplicating a Table

Providing the tables have identical columns (both the number and width of
the columns), removing the break between the tables will merge them into a
single table. If any of the columns are a different width, aligning the
columns will make the tables merge.

--
Terry Farrell - MSWord MVP

wrote in message
...
On 4/6/2010 9:05 PM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
Copy/paste the table. Make sure it is not set to automatically resize to
fit
contents. Then delete the contents. This should preserve the number of
rows and columns and the widths of the columns. It will *not* preserve
the row height. If you need to do that (for printing only, to create a
blank form), you can instead change the font color to white). Otherwise
you'll have to manually adjust the row height for each row, which is
easier said than done.

Ah, the key here is copy using the corner cross and not sweep the entire
table for a copy. It carried the contents, but that's easy to delete. The
next question, for interest only, is how to I merge the two tables?

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet

Solid waste produced to generate electricity per person
over a lifetime:
Nuclear power -- 2 pounds in a coke can
Fossil (coal) fuel -- 68.5 tons in six 12-ton RR cars

-- Power to Save the World, Gwyneth Cravens

Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/

  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Duplicating a Table

As Terry says, removing the separating paragraph will merge them, but if you
just want to add rows to the end of the table, you can add a single row by
tabbing out of the last row, or you can add multiple rows by selecting the
rows (any number up to the entire table) and using Table | Insert | Rows
Below.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

wrote in message
...
On 4/6/2010 9:05 PM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
Copy/paste the table. Make sure it is not set to automatically resize to
fit
contents. Then delete the contents. This should preserve the number of
rows and columns and the widths of the columns. It will *not* preserve
the row height. If you need to do that (for printing only, to create a
blank form), you can instead change the font color to white). Otherwise
you'll have to manually adjust the row height for each row, which is
easier said than done.

Ah, the key here is copy using the corner cross and not sweep the entire
table for a copy. It carried the contents, but that's easy to delete. The
next question, for interest only, is how to I merge the two tables?

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet

Solid waste produced to generate electricity per person
over a lifetime:
Nuclear power -- 2 pounds in a coke can
Fossil (coal) fuel -- 68.5 tons in six 12-ton RR cars

-- Power to Save the World, Gwyneth Cravens

Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/





  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
bj bj is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default Duplicating a Table

I add one row to the end, then just F4 as many times as necessary.

Approx. monthly I have to enlarge an ongoing table after deleting the
obselete rows (one by one as I process other information). I find this
method easier than clearing contents, re-sorting, etc. I'm adding different
numbers of rows each time.
bj

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
As Terry says, removing the separating paragraph will merge them, but if
you just want to add rows to the end of the table, you can add a single
row by tabbing out of the last row, or you can add multiple rows by
selecting the rows (any number up to the entire table) and using Table |
Insert | Rows Below.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

wrote in message
...
On 4/6/2010 9:05 PM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
Copy/paste the table. Make sure it is not set to automatically resize to
fit
contents. Then delete the contents. This should preserve the number of
rows and columns and the widths of the columns. It will *not* preserve
the row height. If you need to do that (for printing only, to create a
blank form), you can instead change the font color to white). Otherwise
you'll have to manually adjust the row height for each row, which is
easier said than done.

Ah, the key here is copy using the corner cross and not sweep the entire
table for a copy. It carried the contents, but that's easy to delete. The
next question, for interest only, is how to I merge the two tables?



  #7   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default Duplicating a Table

I add a row, F4, select the two rows, F4, select the four rows, F4, etc.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

"bj" wrote in message
...
I add one row to the end, then just F4 as many times as necessary.

Approx. monthly I have to enlarge an ongoing table after deleting the
obselete rows (one by one as I process other information). I find this
method easier than clearing contents, re-sorting, etc. I'm adding
different numbers of rows each time.
bj

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
As Terry says, removing the separating paragraph will merge them, but if
you just want to add rows to the end of the table, you can add a single
row by tabbing out of the last row, or you can add multiple rows by
selecting the rows (any number up to the entire table) and using Table |
Insert | Rows Below.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
http://word.mvps.org

wrote in message
...
On 4/6/2010 9:05 PM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
Copy/paste the table. Make sure it is not set to automatically resize
to
fit
contents. Then delete the contents. This should preserve the number of
rows and columns and the widths of the columns. It will *not* preserve
the row height. If you need to do that (for printing only, to create a
blank form), you can instead change the font color to white). Otherwise
you'll have to manually adjust the row height for each row, which is
easier said than done.

Ah, the key here is copy using the corner cross and not sweep the entire
table for a copy. It carried the contents, but that's easy to delete.
The next question, for interest only, is how to I merge the two tables?





  #8   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
[email protected] wolf_tracks@invalid.com is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 47
Default Duplicating a Table

On 4/7/2010 12:42 AM, Terry Farrell wrote:
Providing the tables have identical columns (both the number and width
of the columns), removing the break between the tables will merge them
into a single table. If any of the columns are a different width,
aligning the columns will make the tables merge.

Yep, that worked. Again the little + sign did the trick.

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet

Solid waste produced to generate electricity per person
over a lifetime:
Nuclear power -- 2 pounds in a coke can
Fossil (coal) fuel -- 68.5 tons in six 12-ton RR cars

-- Power to Save the World, Gwyneth Cravens

Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/

  #9   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
[email protected] wolf_tracks@invalid.com is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 47
Default Duplicating a Table

On 4/7/2010 7:41 AM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
I add a row, F4, select the two rows, F4, select the four rows, F4, etc.

Good to know about F4. I guess its primary use is for adding rows.

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39 15' 7" N, 121 2' 32" W, 2700 feet

Solid waste produced to generate electricity per person
over a lifetime:
Nuclear power -- 2 pounds in a coke can
Fossil (coal) fuel -- 68.5 tons in six 12-ton RR cars

-- Power to Save the World, Gwyneth Cravens

Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/

  #10   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
bj bj is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default Duplicating a Table

wrote in message
...
On 4/7/2010 7:41 AM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
I add a row, F4, select the two rows, F4, select the four rows, F4, etc.


That's too complicated for adding just 10-20 rows. :-)

Good to know about F4. I guess its primary use is for adding rows.


F4 is the "repeat" button.
Very handy for lots of things.
bj




  #11   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Carl_B[_2_] Carl_B[_2_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Duplicating a Table

Actually, F4 is for repeating the last action, regardless of what it was.

" wrote:

On 4/7/2010 7:41 AM, Suzanne S. Barnhill wrote:
I add a row, F4, select the two rows, F4, select the four rows, F4, etc.

Good to know about F4. I guess its primary use is for adding rows.

--
Wayne Watson (Watson Adventures, Prop., Nevada City, CA)

(121.015 Deg. W, 39.262 Deg. N) GMT-8 hr std. time)
Obz Site: 39° 15' 7" N, 121° 2' 32" W, 2700 feet

Solid waste produced to generate electricity per person
over a lifetime:
Nuclear power -- 2 pounds in a coke can
Fossil (coal) fuel -- 68.5 tons in six 12-ton RR cars

-- Power to Save the World, Gwyneth Cravens

Web Page: www.speckledwithstars.net/

.

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatically duplicating contents of one table row into another in real time? Ed Chilada Microsoft Word Help 2 March 16th 08 02:38 PM
Automatically duplicating contents of one table row into another in real time? Ed Chilada New Users 2 March 16th 08 02:38 PM
Pages are duplicating after sorting the table in word Noel Tables 9 June 16th 06 03:29 PM
Duplicating Table Phippsy Tables 4 September 3rd 05 02:50 PM
Table of contents is duplicating entries lufwa Microsoft Word Help 1 January 4th 05 07:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"