Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Sabrina Becker
 
Posts: n/a
Default Automatically chaning pt. to lines

I am trying to find a way to keep Word from changing my before and after
paragraph spacing in a table from point to line. For example, when I type in
just the number 3 in the before and just the number 3 in the after under
Format/Paragraph/Line Spacing it automatically changes it to 0.6 lines. Is
there a way to make it not make this change automatically? I realize that if
I type 3pt instead, it will use points, but would like to not have to each
time.
  #2   Report Post  
Cindy M -WordMVP-
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi ?B?U2FicmluYSBCZWNrZXI=?=,

I am trying to find a way to keep Word from changing my before and after
paragraph spacing in a table from point to line. For example, when I type in
just the number 3 in the before and just the number 3 in the after under
Format/Paragraph/Line Spacing it automatically changes it to 0.6 lines. Is
there a way to make it not make this change automatically? I realize that if
I type 3pt instead, it will use points, but would like to not have to each
time.

No, there's no way to change this. You have to explicitly type the measurement
unit if you don't want the default.

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #3   Report Post  
Suzanne S. Barnhill
 
Posts: n/a
Default

But where do you change the default for this? Mine defaults to points, and I
don't see any way to change it to lines.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Cindy M -WordMVP-" wrote in message
news:VA.0000a2f7.01982df5@speedy...
Hi ?B?U2FicmluYSBCZWNrZXI=?=,

I am trying to find a way to keep Word from changing my before and after
paragraph spacing in a table from point to line. For example, when I

type in
just the number 3 in the before and just the number 3 in the after under
Format/Paragraph/Line Spacing it automatically changes it to 0.6 lines.

Is
there a way to make it not make this change automatically? I realize

that if
I type 3pt instead, it will use points, but would like to not have to

each
time.

No, there's no way to change this. You have to explicitly type the

measurement
unit if you don't want the default.

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or

reply
in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)


  #4   Report Post  
Cindy M -WordMVP-
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Suzanne,

But where do you change the default for this? Mine defaults to points, and I
don't see any way to change it to lines.

I just answered the OP that you cannot change the default...

Cindy Meister
INTER-Solutions, Switzerland
http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister (last update Jun 8 2004)
http://www.word.mvps.org

This reply is posted in the Newsgroup; please post any follow question or
reply in the newsgroup and not by e-mail :-)

  #5   Report Post  
Jean-Guy Marcil
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cindy M -WordMVP- was telling us:
Cindy M -WordMVP- nous racontait que :

Hi Suzanne,

But where do you change the default for this? Mine defaults to
points, and I don't see any way to change it to lines.

I just answered the OP that you cannot change the default...


I think Suzanne (and I!) wanted to know why some users have pts and other
Lines.... Where/How was this changed?

I occasionally get documents that are like that (they use lines). What
causes some documents to behave that way when the default is clearly set to
points? I does not happen all that often, so I always put it down to "yet
another funny thing Word does"... There aren't that many anyway ;-) Is this
a compatibility issue?
I think next time I get one like that I will save it and try to find the
difference between that one strange document and all other "regular"
documents... There is something going on there!

--
Salut!
_______________________________________
Jean-Guy Marcil - Word MVP
ISTOO
Word MVP site:
http://www.word.mvps.org





  #6   Report Post  
Suzanne S. Barnhill
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's also possible that we're talking about different things. There are some
measurements in the Format Paragraph dialog that do show lines. I thought we
were discussing Space Before/After (points), but I could have lost track. In
the Line Spacing section, Exactly uses points, but Multiple uses lines.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Jean-Guy Marcil" wrote in message
...
Cindy M -WordMVP- was telling us:
Cindy M -WordMVP- nous racontait que :

Hi Suzanne,

But where do you change the default for this? Mine defaults to
points, and I don't see any way to change it to lines.

I just answered the OP that you cannot change the default...


I think Suzanne (and I!) wanted to know why some users have pts and other
Lines.... Where/How was this changed?

I occasionally get documents that are like that (they use lines). What
causes some documents to behave that way when the default is clearly set

to
points? I does not happen all that often, so I always put it down to "yet
another funny thing Word does"... There aren't that many anyway ;-) Is

this
a compatibility issue?
I think next time I get one like that I will save it and try to find the
difference between that one strange document and all other "regular"
documents... There is something going on there!

--
Salut!
_______________________________________
Jean-Guy Marcil - Word MVP
ISTOO
Word MVP site:
http://www.word.mvps.org




Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can one item of text be automatically replicated in several spots? Chris Microsoft Word Help 1 January 20th 05 03:28 PM
How do you REALLY turn off automatically update styles in Word 200 College Student Microsoft Word Help 1 January 8th 05 11:17 PM
line breaking rules or lines wrap like work 6.0 carvin5string Microsoft Word Help 1 December 29th 04 07:01 PM
HOW DO I TYPE OVER LINES AND MOVE FROM ONE SUBJECT TO ANOTHER USI. JUST_EMI Page Layout 1 December 15th 04 08:51 AM
Change Line Count to not count blank lines Carol Microsoft Word Help 4 November 27th 04 01:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"