Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Kaytee
 
Posts: n/a
Default Want to display the Thesaurus in dialog box not task pane in Word

I have a user who uses a screen reading program and is having problems with
the way the Thesaurus shows up in the task pane. The keystrokes are more
complicated to use the task pane than it is to use a dialog box.

Is there a way to have the Thesaurus open in a dialog box like it did in
Word 2000?
  #2   Report Post  
Shauna Kelly
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Kaytee

Yes, it is possible to get the Thesaurus to display in the old dialog box
rather than in the Task Pane.

To display the old dialog box, put the following tiny macro into your user's
normal.dot. For help in installing the macro, see
http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm.

Sub ToolsThesaurusRR()
Dialogs(wdDialogToolsThesaurus).Show
End Sub

This macro will intercept the command to display the task pane. If that
macro is in place, then Shift-F7 or Tools Language Thesaurus will invoke
the old dialog box rather than the new task pane.

However, the new Task Pane can use Thesaurus data that it gets from on-line
sources, and the old dialog box doesn't use the on-line data. So your user
may miss out on data from the new on-line thesaurus. To see the on-line
information, you can still use Tools Research. So this should give your
user the best of both worlds.

Hope this helps. Write back if you need any further information.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news
I have a user who uses a screen reading program and is having problems with
the way the Thesaurus shows up in the task pane. The keystrokes are more
complicated to use the task pane than it is to use a dialog box.

Is there a way to have the Thesaurus open in a dialog box like it did in
Word 2000?



  #3   Report Post  
Kaytee
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you Shauna

This works great. At the risk of appearing greedy, is there another Macro
that will close the task panel when the dialog box is closed?

Kaytee

"Shauna Kelly" wrote:

Hi Kaytee

Yes, it is possible to get the Thesaurus to display in the old dialog box
rather than in the Task Pane.

To display the old dialog box, put the following tiny macro into your user's
normal.dot. For help in installing the macro, see
http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm.

Sub ToolsThesaurusRR()
Dialogs(wdDialogToolsThesaurus).Show
End Sub

This macro will intercept the command to display the task pane. If that
macro is in place, then Shift-F7 or Tools Language Thesaurus will invoke
the old dialog box rather than the new task pane.

However, the new Task Pane can use Thesaurus data that it gets from on-line
sources, and the old dialog box doesn't use the on-line data. So your user
may miss out on data from the new on-line thesaurus. To see the on-line
information, you can still use Tools Research. So this should give your
user the best of both worlds.

Hope this helps. Write back if you need any further information.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news
I have a user who uses a screen reading program and is having problems with
the way the Thesaurus shows up in the task pane. The keystrokes are more
complicated to use the task pane than it is to use a dialog box.

Is there a way to have the Thesaurus open in a dialog box like it did in
Word 2000?




  #4   Report Post  
Shauna Kelly
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Kaytee

You can close the dialog box by pressing Escape. You can close the task pane
by doing ctrl-F1 or View Task Pane. Does that solve the problem?

Hope this helps.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news
Thank you Shauna

This works great. At the risk of appearing greedy, is there another Macro
that will close the task panel when the dialog box is closed?

Kaytee

"Shauna Kelly" wrote:

Hi Kaytee

Yes, it is possible to get the Thesaurus to display in the old dialog box
rather than in the Task Pane.

To display the old dialog box, put the following tiny macro into your
user's
normal.dot. For help in installing the macro, see
http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm.

Sub ToolsThesaurusRR()
Dialogs(wdDialogToolsThesaurus).Show
End Sub

This macro will intercept the command to display the task pane. If that
macro is in place, then Shift-F7 or Tools Language Thesaurus will
invoke
the old dialog box rather than the new task pane.

However, the new Task Pane can use Thesaurus data that it gets from
on-line
sources, and the old dialog box doesn't use the on-line data. So your
user
may miss out on data from the new on-line thesaurus. To see the on-line
information, you can still use Tools Research. So this should give your
user the best of both worlds.

Hope this helps. Write back if you need any further information.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news
I have a user who uses a screen reading program and is having problems
with
the way the Thesaurus shows up in the task pane. The keystrokes are
more
complicated to use the task pane than it is to use a dialog box.

Is there a way to have the Thesaurus open in a dialog box like it did
in
Word 2000?






  #5   Report Post  
Kaytee
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you Shauna. I should have noted the user is sight impaired. Now that
I have the keystroke this will work great for him.

Kaytee

"Shauna Kelly" wrote:

Hi Kaytee

You can close the dialog box by pressing Escape. You can close the task pane
by doing ctrl-F1 or View Task Pane. Does that solve the problem?

Hope this helps.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news
Thank you Shauna

This works great. At the risk of appearing greedy, is there another Macro
that will close the task panel when the dialog box is closed?

Kaytee

"Shauna Kelly" wrote:

Hi Kaytee

Yes, it is possible to get the Thesaurus to display in the old dialog box
rather than in the Task Pane.

To display the old dialog box, put the following tiny macro into your
user's
normal.dot. For help in installing the macro, see
http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm.

Sub ToolsThesaurusRR()
Dialogs(wdDialogToolsThesaurus).Show
End Sub

This macro will intercept the command to display the task pane. If that
macro is in place, then Shift-F7 or Tools Language Thesaurus will
invoke
the old dialog box rather than the new task pane.

However, the new Task Pane can use Thesaurus data that it gets from
on-line
sources, and the old dialog box doesn't use the on-line data. So your
user
may miss out on data from the new on-line thesaurus. To see the on-line
information, you can still use Tools Research. So this should give your
user the best of both worlds.

Hope this helps. Write back if you need any further information.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news I have a user who uses a screen reading program and is having problems
with
the way the Thesaurus shows up in the task pane. The keystrokes are
more
complicated to use the task pane than it is to use a dialog box.

Is there a way to have the Thesaurus open in a dialog box like it did
in
Word 2000?








  #6   Report Post  
Shauna Kelly
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Kaytee

Great. I'm glad it will help him out.

Shauna

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
...
Thank you Shauna. I should have noted the user is sight impaired. Now
that
I have the keystroke this will work great for him.

Kaytee

"Shauna Kelly" wrote:

Hi Kaytee

You can close the dialog box by pressing Escape. You can close the task
pane
by doing ctrl-F1 or View Task Pane. Does that solve the problem?

Hope this helps.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news
Thank you Shauna

This works great. At the risk of appearing greedy, is there another
Macro
that will close the task panel when the dialog box is closed?

Kaytee

"Shauna Kelly" wrote:

Hi Kaytee

Yes, it is possible to get the Thesaurus to display in the old dialog
box
rather than in the Task Pane.

To display the old dialog box, put the following tiny macro into your
user's
normal.dot. For help in installing the macro, see
http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm.

Sub ToolsThesaurusRR()
Dialogs(wdDialogToolsThesaurus).Show
End Sub

This macro will intercept the command to display the task pane. If
that
macro is in place, then Shift-F7 or Tools Language Thesaurus will
invoke
the old dialog box rather than the new task pane.

However, the new Task Pane can use Thesaurus data that it gets from
on-line
sources, and the old dialog box doesn't use the on-line data. So your
user
may miss out on data from the new on-line thesaurus. To see the
on-line
information, you can still use Tools Research. So this should give
your
user the best of both worlds.

Hope this helps. Write back if you need any further information.

Shauna Kelly. Microsoft MVP.
http://www.shaunakelly.com/word


"Kaytee" wrote in message
news I have a user who uses a screen reading program and is having
problems
with
the way the Thesaurus shows up in the task pane. The keystrokes are
more
complicated to use the task pane than it is to use a dialog box.

Is there a way to have the Thesaurus open in a dialog box like it
did
in
Word 2000?








Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logo and Signature on template don't display Chrisso Microsoft Word Help 1 May 1st 05 05:04 PM
Table of Contents does not save Styles selection in Options dialog John D Microsoft Word Help 1 April 28th 05 05:08 PM
How do I get all my Word documents within one Word window RobJacobs Microsoft Word Help 5 April 12th 05 03:04 AM
Print Dialog box not appearing Bob Mailmerge 1 March 31st 05 06:57 PM
WORD 2002 will not display ASPX clip files. LOUISE Microsoft Word Help 1 January 11th 05 07:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"