Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Khardy3352 Khardy3352 is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default repeating drop down box

I am designing a form with multiple drop down fields with the same options.
Is there a way to copy the original drop down field to use multiple times or
must I design each of the identical drop down fields separately?
  #2   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Graham Mayor Graham Mayor is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19,312
Default repeating drop down box

Insert the field, add the dropdown options, then copy and paste. The pasted
fields will not have a bookmark name as bookmarks must be unique. so must be
edited to add names.

This is only a sensible option of the dropdowns are intended to produce
different results. If the result of one depends on another, you should
insert the result by macro - see
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


Khardy3352 wrote:
I am designing a form with multiple drop down fields with the same
options. Is there a way to copy the original drop down field to use
multiple times or must I design each of the identical drop down
fields separately?



  #3   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Bear[_2_] Bear[_2_] is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 314
Default repeating drop down box

You may also find the AutoTextList field useful. That way you can edit the
content of all such lists by editing the AutoText in the supporting template.

Bear

--
Windows XP, Word 2000

  #4   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Khardy3352 Khardy3352 is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default repeating drop down box

Thank you so much. This worked perfectly! Once the form is complete and
secured, is there a way for users to easily "clear the form" to clear all
choices made so the form can be reused for another episode or situation?

"Graham Mayor" wrote:

Insert the field, add the dropdown options, then copy and paste. The pasted
fields will not have a bookmark name as bookmarks must be unique. so must be
edited to add names.

This is only a sensible option of the dropdowns are intended to produce
different results. If the result of one depends on another, you should
insert the result by macro - see
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


Khardy3352 wrote:
I am designing a form with multiple drop down fields with the same
options. Is there a way to copy the original drop down field to use
multiple times or must I design each of the identical drop down
fields separately?




  #5   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Khardy3352 Khardy3352 is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default repeating drop down box

May I ask one other question? Can you insert a scanned item into a drop down
box? For example, can I scan in signatures, and put the various sigs into a
drop down box?

"Bear" wrote:

You may also find the AutoTextList field useful. That way you can edit the
content of all such lists by editing the AutoText in the supporting template.

Bear

--
Windows XP, Word 2000



  #6   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Graham Mayor Graham Mayor is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19,312
Default repeating drop down box

Not as you imagine, but you can insert signatures based on the result of a
dropdown box - see http://www.gmayor.com/SelectFile.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


Khardy3352 wrote:
May I ask one other question? Can you insert a scanned item into a
drop down box? For example, can I scan in signatures, and put the
various sigs into a drop down box?

"Bear" wrote:

You may also find the AutoTextList field useful. That way you can
edit the content of all such lists by editing the AutoText in the
supporting template.

Bear

--
Windows XP, Word 2000



  #7   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Graham Mayor Graham Mayor is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19,312
Default repeating drop down box

Add a blank entry to the start of each dropdown field comprising (say) ten
spaces.
The following macro will set each drop down field to the 10 spaces and the
rest of the form fields to zero.
Note however if you save the uncompleted form field as a template new form
documents created from it will already have the default start settings.


Sub ClearForm()
Dim oFld As FormFields
Set oFld = ActiveDocument.FormFields
For i = 1 To oFld.Count
If oFld(i).Type = wdFieldFormDropDown Then
oFld(i).Result = " "
Else
oFld(i).Result = ""
End If
Next
End Sub

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


Khardy3352 wrote:
Thank you so much. This worked perfectly! Once the form is complete
and secured, is there a way for users to easily "clear the form" to
clear all choices made so the form can be reused for another episode
or situation?

"Graham Mayor" wrote:

Insert the field, add the dropdown options, then copy and paste. The
pasted fields will not have a bookmark name as bookmarks must be
unique. so must be edited to add names.

This is only a sensible option of the dropdowns are intended to
produce different results. If the result of one depends on another,
you should insert the result by macro - see
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


Khardy3352 wrote:
I am designing a form with multiple drop down fields with the same
options. Is there a way to copy the original drop down field to use
multiple times or must I design each of the identical drop down
fields separately?



  #8   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default repeating drop down box

You can do this with an AutoTextList field (since scanned signatures can be
saved as AutoText entries). See
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/Customization/AutoText.htm and
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/AutoTextList.htm.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Khardy3352" wrote in message
...
May I ask one other question? Can you insert a scanned item into a drop

down
box? For example, can I scan in signatures, and put the various sigs into

a
drop down box?

"Bear" wrote:

You may also find the AutoTextList field useful. That way you can edit

the
content of all such lists by editing the AutoText in the supporting

template.

Bear

--
Windows XP, Word 2000


  #9   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Khardy3352 Khardy3352 is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default repeating drop down box

OK, I am having trouble with the AutoTextList function. Can an AutoTextList
be included with a form that has drop down boxes and checkboxes? Is there a
mini course you can recommend to help me work this out? Remembering I am a
true novice

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:

You can do this with an AutoTextList field (since scanned signatures can be
saved as AutoText entries). See
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/Customization/AutoText.htm and
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/AutoTextList.htm.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Khardy3352" wrote in message
...
May I ask one other question? Can you insert a scanned item into a drop

down
box? For example, can I scan in signatures, and put the various sigs into

a
drop down box?

"Bear" wrote:

You may also find the AutoTextList field useful. That way you can edit

the
content of all such lists by editing the AutoText in the supporting

template.

Bear

--
Windows XP, Word 2000



  #10   Report Post  
Posted to microsoft.public.word.docmanagement
Suzanne S. Barnhill Suzanne S. Barnhill is offline
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33,624
Default repeating drop down box

An AutoTextList field could not be used in a protected section of a
protected form. It might be possible to use it in an unprotected section.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Khardy3352" wrote in message
...
OK, I am having trouble with the AutoTextList function. Can an

AutoTextList
be included with a form that has drop down boxes and checkboxes? Is there

a
mini course you can recommend to help me work this out? Remembering I am a
true novice

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:

You can do this with an AutoTextList field (since scanned signatures can

be
saved as AutoText entries). See
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/Customization/AutoText.htm and
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/AutoTextList.htm.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the

newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Khardy3352" wrote in message
...
May I ask one other question? Can you insert a scanned item into a

drop
down
box? For example, can I scan in signatures, and put the various sigs

into
a
drop down box?

"Bear" wrote:

You may also find the AutoTextList field useful. That way you can

edit
the
content of all such lists by editing the AutoText in the supporting

template.

Bear

--
Windows XP, Word 2000




Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop down form field added but nolist in drop down Roberta Microsoft Word Help 1 November 1st 06 03:54 PM
Repeating with F4 ChelseaWarren Microsoft Word Help 4 February 20th 06 04:15 PM
repeating first row Terry Tables 4 November 25th 05 12:10 AM
Repeating drop-down fields on all pages of a letter angelaoak24 Microsoft Word Help 1 November 11th 05 05:34 PM
The drop down form field is not showing drop downs. Why? mindysue Microsoft Word Help 1 May 26th 05 09:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 Microsoft Office Word Forum - WordBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Microsoft Word"